Mother's Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
A very tasty muffin with minimal involvement. I did use homemade chunky applesauce and, as one reviewer recommended, added a little bit of brown sugar to the top. I'd definitely make these again but might consider a little less all spice or substituting with just nutmeg and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kacobu
Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
this made really good mini muffins!!! I also added a dash of brown sugar on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivienne

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sydneycody
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Great muffins. I substituted 2C of white flour with 1.5C wheat flour and 0.5C oat bran. These were absolutely delicious even without the subs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sydneycody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
These are really wonderful. I omitted the raisens, hubby and son hate them. I cut the recipe in half and added a pinch of cloves and ginger, just because I like them in any "spice" type dish. These muffins were great, and the whole family loved them. I also used half whole-wheat flour just to make them a bit healthier. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I used 1/2 c AP flour, 1/2 c bread flour; nutmeg and cloves instead of allspice; 1 shredded apple and 1/2 c of applesauce (because I didn't have enough applesauce); and soaked the raisins in vodka first. Mmmm mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingsland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Good with a few changes- added cloves and nutmeg in addition to the allspice and cinnamon. Also added about a cup of shredded apple. Brushed the tops of the muffins (once baked) with a little butter, then sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
LOVED these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
My children gobbled them right up! Very nice flavor. Thanks ... it's a "keeper"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TBURBANK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Yesterday I told my husband that I found a great "Cinnamon-Raisin Muffin" recipe (his favorite kind). Then I made some changes to this recipe, as follows: 1 1/4 c white flour, 1 1/4 c whole wheat, 1 c rolled oats, 1/2 c wheat germ, 1 1/2 c butter with 2 1/2 c applesauce and 1 1/2 c raisins (soaked in hot water to plump them up), 1 c brown sugar, 1/2 c white sugar...everything else I left the same. I topped with a little brown sugar, too. He LOVED it!!!! He usually just picks at the recipes from this site because I'm always trying to make them healthy, so this time I didn't say anything and he has NO idea that he's eating something that is actually somewhat good for him! I'm still giggling over it! ** Next time I will put in 2 c of raisins; even with the extra 1/2 c it didn't seem like there were that many.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Excellent recipe! I also added a little brown sugar on top before baking and it gave it a wonderful texture and added sweetness! Super yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLENKJOHNSON

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States