Mother's Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
A very tasty muffin with minimal involvement. I did use homemade chunky applesauce and, as one reviewer recommended, added a little bit of brown sugar to the top. I'd definitely make these again but might consider a little less all spice or substituting with just nutmeg and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kacobu
Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
this made really good mini muffins!!! I also added a dash of brown sugar on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivienne

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sydneycody
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Great muffins. I substituted 2C of white flour with 1.5C wheat flour and 0.5C oat bran. These were absolutely delicious even without the subs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sydneycody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
These are really wonderful. I omitted the raisens, hubby and son hate them. I cut the recipe in half and added a pinch of cloves and ginger, just because I like them in any "spice" type dish. These muffins were great, and the whole family loved them. I also used half whole-wheat flour just to make them a bit healthier. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I used 1/2 c AP flour, 1/2 c bread flour; nutmeg and cloves instead of allspice; 1 shredded apple and 1/2 c of applesauce (because I didn't have enough applesauce); and soaked the raisins in vodka first. Mmmm mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingsland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Good with a few changes- added cloves and nutmeg in addition to the allspice and cinnamon. Also added about a cup of shredded apple. Brushed the tops of the muffins (once baked) with a little butter, then sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
LOVED these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
My children gobbled them right up! Very nice flavor. Thanks ... it's a "keeper"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TBURBANK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Yesterday I told my husband that I found a great "Cinnamon-Raisin Muffin" recipe (his favorite kind). Then I made some changes to this recipe, as follows: 1 1/4 c white flour, 1 1/4 c whole wheat, 1 c rolled oats, 1/2 c wheat germ, 1 1/2 c butter with 2 1/2 c applesauce and 1 1/2 c raisins (soaked in hot water to plump them up), 1 c brown sugar, 1/2 c white sugar...everything else I left the same. I topped with a little brown sugar, too. He LOVED it!!!! He usually just picks at the recipes from this site because I'm always trying to make them healthy, so this time I didn't say anything and he has NO idea that he's eating something that is actually somewhat good for him! I'm still giggling over it! ** Next time I will put in 2 c of raisins; even with the extra 1/2 c it didn't seem like there were that many.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Excellent recipe! I also added a little brown sugar on top before baking and it gave it a wonderful texture and added sweetness! Super yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLENKJOHNSON

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States