Mother's Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
We loved these muffins! I don't have allspice on hand so I used a mix of fresh ginger, cloves and nutmeg. I always replace 1/3 of the white flour with whole wheat flour. I had to use maple extract because we were out of vanilla. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Great recipe. I didn't have any allspice in the house, so I used a little ginger and cloves. I also substituted 1/2 cup canola oil for the butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is one of my favorite muffin recipes. My children love them as does my husband. They rarely last more than a day or 2 in our house. I have always used homemade applesauce with them and they are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Very moist, light and fluffy. Made a great, healthy snack for pre-schoolers. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
These were really, really good!! I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup and could have probably gotten away with 1/2. I used whole wheat flour for half of the full amount. I think next time just to be a little bit healthier, I would cut the butter in half as well. They are pretty buttery as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Most Awesome muffins ever, doubled the recipie and made 24 large muffins. I substituded raw sugar for both the brown and white sugar also I substituted applesauce for the oil. Genius now I have fat free muffins- used fat free milk with lemon juice as buttermilk. They were gone before everyone went to bed. I also used 3 cups white flour and 1 cup oats. Easy and delicious I am making them again tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Very good muffins but I expected more apple flavor to come through. I will make again and think I will try adding 1 grated apple to the ingredients. Thanks for a keeper Peggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I didn't change a thing! This recipe is wonderful. My husband likes a little something besides toast in the morning with his coffee, and these are perfect. Not too sweet, but lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
These were delicious! I added a bit of extra cinnamon and allspice, and it still tasted great. I highly reccommend these muffins for an afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
My family loved these muffins! For half the batter, I left out the raisins, and the other half, I added golden raisins and white chocolate chips. I topped both with a streusel topping. Makes a large batch, but they don't last long:) I will certainly be making again. Thanks for sharing!****Made these again this morning. I left out the raisins, substituted sugar in the raw for reg sugar. I added just a hint of pure lemon extract & sprinkled just a bit of sugar in the raw & cinnamon on top. My family loved the hint of lemon! Loved these muffins both ways...will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States