Mother's Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Just made these with my own applesauce and a gluten-free baking mix and they came out brilliantly! Light and fluffy, not too sweet. Changes: I made only a half batch and it made 14 muffins. I then used slightly less than half of the allspice and cinnamon - just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
My family really loves muffins and they absolutely raved about this one. I followed the recipe as is except I did omit the brown sugar on top and we didn't miss it. These make a good breakfast or snack for my busy college son who has Crohn's disease. And my husband gave it the ultimate compliment..."This tastes just life something we'd get in Gatlinburg, it's that good!" Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
These muffins are awesome! I used 3 cups of flour and 1 cup of rolled oats, 2 cups of sweetened chunky applesauce, 1 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown and added 1/2 cup of shredded carrot along with the raisins. I altered the spices a bit: 1 tbsp. of cinnamon, 2 tsp. of cinnamon, 2 tsp. of nutmeg, 1/2 tsp. of allspice, 1/4 tsp. of cloves. I used an over sized muffin tin and got a dozen huge muffins. I topped them with a mixture of cinnamon sugar and they not only smelled good but tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I liked these. My husband gave them 3 stars. I tried them with and without brown sugar on top. Both were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
These came out quite good. I halved the recipe for one dozen muffins, and my three kids ate them all in less than 24 hours. I did make some small changes. I used 1 1/2 cups white flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat. I also used half white sugar and half brown. I cut back slightly on the spices because I used Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce from this site. I also left out the raisins because my kids don't care for them. The result was a moist, flavorful muffin perfect for a snack or breakfast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I found these while looking for a way to use up the rest of the applesauce in the fridge. I halved the sugar and doubled the spices - result was a subtly sweet, filling muffin that we both enjoyed. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I love this recipe! It is so easy to make. I made a batch for my daughter's class. My changes include: we had leftover home-made cranberry applesauce from Thanksgiving (Cooking Light-Chunky Spiced Applesauce)so I used that; I cut the sugar to 1 cup and used whole wheat flour (2 c.) and AP flour for the rest. They were just a tiny bit dry (probably due to the lowered sugar and/or whole wheat flour) but brushing butter and sprinkling cinnamon/sugar on top once they came out of the oven did the trick!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Yummy! I halved the recipe (didn't need 2 dozen muffins), omitted raisins and added a dash of nutmeg and cloves... I think they'd also taste great with walnuts added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Made this with a few changes. My son wanted chocolate chip muffins, but I had applesauce to use up so I made these, with changes. I left out the cinnamon, allspice and raisins. I only had 2 cups of all-purpose flour, so I used 2 cups AP and 2 cups WW. It was pretty sweet, so if I make it again I will leave out some sugar. I ended up with 24 muffins and extra batter, so I used the extra batter to make a small loaf also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
So good! I just whipped these up in no time for my 1 and 3 year old. I cut the recipe into a 4th of this and it made 12 mini muffins that were overflowing (the more muffin top the better :). I used twice the cinnamon and no allspice. I left the raisins out of half the muffins since my 3-year-old doesn't like them and just put sprinkles on hers. They turned out so soft and moist. Both of the kids are tearing them apart right now. I'm pretty sure these required less of my attention than pancakes so I will be making them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casiann1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States