Mother's Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
The first time I made these I actually substituted plum puree and it was wonderful. Second time I used apple (I think the plum was even better)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Just the right texture. My son made these and they turned out great. He didn't use the raisins so they were a smooth perfectly sweet but not too sweet muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
These muffins are AMAZING. They are very cake like, and scrumptious. i did everything that the recipe called for except three things. 1. I did not have baking soda, but instead, baking powder, and I added double the amount it called for, and they still turned out great. 2. I didn't have raisins, so I put craisins in the batter, and they really added a nice flavor to them. 3. I did not have allspice, so I added nutmeg, as the recipe called for. It was a little too potent at first, but after letting the muffins sit for a little while, the entire recipe turned out amazing. EVERYONE (even the picky kids a few houses down) LOVES THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I added a few other spices and they turned out great! My family loved them:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmaleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
My extremely picky granddaughters who won't eat anything loved these. They were very generous in size and very moist. I enjoyed the balance of flavours and I thought the amount of raisins was just right. The only things I did differently were to plump the raisins and to add the raisins to the dry ingredients before adding the applesauce mixture to ensure that the raisins don't all fall to the bottom of the muffins. I will be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Wonderful! These just came out of the oven and the smell while they were baking was heavenly. The texture is perfect--light and moist. The spice mixture is just right. I followed the recipe as written except I left out the raisins because our family doesn't care for them. Next time I make them I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
WOW - These muffins were so moist and delicious. Followed recipe, absolutely no need to change anything. Shared with my neighbor and of course she wanted the recipe. Only added raisins to 1/2 as my husband doesn't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This was a great base recipe, and I love that you can make it with pantry staples! I will add some additional spice next time since the muffins were a little on the bland side for me. I also added pecans, white chocolate chips and 2 T. molasses and cut down on the white sugar by 1/2 cup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Delicous! I halved the recipe and got 8 giant muffins out of it. I made some changes to make it a bit healthier. I changed the amount of sugar to 3/4 cup and sprinkled a bit of brown sugar on top. I also subbed in 1 c of wheat flour for one cup of the white flour. I kept the 1tbsp of vanilla even though i halved the recipe. I also added in some extra cinnamon and wheat germ. I'm sure these are great as-is but I've got to sneak in the healthy when I can when cooking for my kids. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I would give it 4.5 stars... the muffins turned out well, very tasty, moist, and dense. I subbed 1c oats in place of flour, 1c brown sugar in place of white, and added about a cup of diced apple. I think that about half the oats, and twice as much apple will make this almost perfect. Sprinkle of brown sugar on top prior to cooking did give it a lovely crunch... and this recipe made 24 muffin-cup sized muffins (when filled to 2/3 as directed), next time I'll halve it, and overflow the cups to make 8ish large muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.Brittania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States