Mother's Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Delicious! Like most, I made a few tweaks in the recipe. I used 1/2 all-purpose and 1/2 wheat flour, which I find adds more flavor as well as nutrition. I cut back the sugar a bit and think it could comfortably go down lower (especially if you use sweetened applesauce). Chunky applesauce gave them great texture with some little apple pieces. I used a combo of raisins, craisins and pecan chips instead of just raisins. Sooo good and adds a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I took some other's advise and used 2 C white flour, 1 C wheat flour and 1 C oatmeal in place of the 4 C flour. Made no other changes. Muffins were very dark from all the cinnamon so I was afraid appearance would deter my family from eating them, but they loved them. May use a chunky appleasauce next time or add a little fresh apple. The apple flavor was a little lost with all the cinnamon, but still very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Really good recipe! This recipe makes a big batch, so be ready! I got 30 muffins out of it. I'm sure they'll all get eaten because they are soft, moist, and sweet - but not too sweet. I added extra raisins (one cup is a bit stingy if you are someone who likes them) and substituted butter flavored shortening for the butter/margarine because that's what I had on hand, and I was really pleased. Next time I make it I'm going to try adding carrots and oats or wheat flour as other reviewers have suggested. It may make for a better, richer texture. Maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
These muffins were moist, delicious, and fairly easy. With a few alterations, they are perfect! Here's what I did: 4 cups white flour, 2 tbsp ground cinnaomon, 3 tsp baking soda (makes the muffins even more fluffy), 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup cane sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 2 eggs, 2 1/2 cups applesauce, 2 tbsp vanilla, 1 1/2 cups raisins, & 1 1/2 tsp ground cloves. Mixed together and baked for 25 min these are so, so, so good!! Best eaten warm (I heated up for 30 seconds in the microwave). I also made up a batch substituting 3/4 cup honey for the 1 cup sugars and upped the applesauce to 3 cups - still turned out yummy and a great breakfast or snack food! I recommend you try these! Oh and the house smelled insanely wonderful while I was baking the muffins. Like fall, Thanksgiving, happiness.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le3igh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
1st time made as written except added 1/2c oats and 1/2c. wheat germ. I found them to be a little sweet/fatty for breakfast for the kids so this time I did 1/2 the sugar(1/4cbrown and 1/4cwhite) and reduced the butter to 1/2c. added a bit more apple sauce, some nutmeg tasted great. not a huge diff in taste and less fat without the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I had 4 stars on this recipe and I am changing it to 5 because I added leftover streusel that I had from To Die For Blueberry Muffins from this site. My one year old wasn't a fan of the allspice in the recipe, so I will probably reduce it or leave it out next time I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajarrett09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
So good. Just what I was hoping for. I had already started another recipe where you soak oats in milk, so I incorporated them here. I used 3 1/2 cups flour, and then 1 cup oats soaked in 1 cup milk. I blended the soaked oats and milk with the butter and sugar, and they blended into a great creamy texture. I was worried the batter would be too "wet," but I followed all of the other proportions, and they turned out so delicious. Definitely making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Great muffins. I usually hate when people leave reviews and then list all the changes they made, but I'll be guilty of the same today. I substituted whole wheat flour for 1 1/2 cups of all purpose and 1/2 cup barley flakes for another 1/2 cup flour. I added an extra tsp. cinnamon, and 3/4 tsp ginger. I also cut the sugar in half. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I was looking for a simple but flavorful muffin for breakfast/snacks, and this recipe fit the bill! I made this recipe exactly as written since I don't like to review recipes unless I make THE recipe. Thanks for a great recipe! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Pretty good muffins. I used 2 cups AP flour and 2 cups whole wheat. I also sprinkled the tops with a little turbinado sugar. But I was surprised that they don't have a really strong apple taste in spite of using 2 cups of chunky homemade applesauce. Might be the nutty whole wheat that takes away from it, but I wanted it to have some whole grain, so I wouldn't change that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States