Mother's Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Delicious! Like most, I made a few tweaks in the recipe. I used 1/2 all-purpose and 1/2 wheat flour, which I find adds more flavor as well as nutrition. I cut back the sugar a bit and think it could comfortably go down lower (especially if you use sweetened applesauce). Chunky applesauce gave them great texture with some little apple pieces. I used a combo of raisins, craisins and pecan chips instead of just raisins. Sooo good and adds a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I took some other's advise and used 2 C white flour, 1 C wheat flour and 1 C oatmeal in place of the 4 C flour. Made no other changes. Muffins were very dark from all the cinnamon so I was afraid appearance would deter my family from eating them, but they loved them. May use a chunky appleasauce next time or add a little fresh apple. The apple flavor was a little lost with all the cinnamon, but still very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Really good recipe! This recipe makes a big batch, so be ready! I got 30 muffins out of it. I'm sure they'll all get eaten because they are soft, moist, and sweet - but not too sweet. I added extra raisins (one cup is a bit stingy if you are someone who likes them) and substituted butter flavored shortening for the butter/margarine because that's what I had on hand, and I was really pleased. Next time I make it I'm going to try adding carrots and oats or wheat flour as other reviewers have suggested. It may make for a better, richer texture. Maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
These muffins were moist, delicious, and fairly easy. With a few alterations, they are perfect! Here's what I did: 4 cups white flour, 2 tbsp ground cinnaomon, 3 tsp baking soda (makes the muffins even more fluffy), 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup cane sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 2 eggs, 2 1/2 cups applesauce, 2 tbsp vanilla, 1 1/2 cups raisins, & 1 1/2 tsp ground cloves. Mixed together and baked for 25 min these are so, so, so good!! Best eaten warm (I heated up for 30 seconds in the microwave). I also made up a batch substituting 3/4 cup honey for the 1 cup sugars and upped the applesauce to 3 cups - still turned out yummy and a great breakfast or snack food! I recommend you try these! Oh and the house smelled insanely wonderful while I was baking the muffins. Like fall, Thanksgiving, happiness.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le3igh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
1st time made as written except added 1/2c oats and 1/2c. wheat germ. I found them to be a little sweet/fatty for breakfast for the kids so this time I did 1/2 the sugar(1/4cbrown and 1/4cwhite) and reduced the butter to 1/2c. added a bit more apple sauce, some nutmeg tasted great. not a huge diff in taste and less fat without the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I had 4 stars on this recipe and I am changing it to 5 because I added leftover streusel that I had from To Die For Blueberry Muffins from this site. My one year old wasn't a fan of the allspice in the recipe, so I will probably reduce it or leave it out next time I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajarrett09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
So good. Just what I was hoping for. I had already started another recipe where you soak oats in milk, so I incorporated them here. I used 3 1/2 cups flour, and then 1 cup oats soaked in 1 cup milk. I blended the soaked oats and milk with the butter and sugar, and they blended into a great creamy texture. I was worried the batter would be too "wet," but I followed all of the other proportions, and they turned out so delicious. Definitely making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Great muffins. I usually hate when people leave reviews and then list all the changes they made, but I'll be guilty of the same today. I substituted whole wheat flour for 1 1/2 cups of all purpose and 1/2 cup barley flakes for another 1/2 cup flour. I added an extra tsp. cinnamon, and 3/4 tsp ginger. I also cut the sugar in half. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I was looking for a simple but flavorful muffin for breakfast/snacks, and this recipe fit the bill! I made this recipe exactly as written since I don't like to review recipes unless I make THE recipe. Thanks for a great recipe! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Pretty good muffins. I used 2 cups AP flour and 2 cups whole wheat. I also sprinkled the tops with a little turbinado sugar. But I was surprised that they don't have a really strong apple taste in spite of using 2 cups of chunky homemade applesauce. Might be the nutty whole wheat that takes away from it, but I wanted it to have some whole grain, so I wouldn't change that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States