Mother's Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
A family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Very yummy and moist! I used craisins rather than raisins, and I also sprinkled brown sugar to the tops before cooking. (I suggest pushing the brown sugar down into the batter so it doesn't crumble off when they're done.) Don't overfill the muffin cups or you'll destroy the muffins trying to get them out of the pan... they are very soft. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
These are delicious! I used golden raisins, all I had, and Savory baking spice - which made the muffins special. It is a wonderful blend of Saigon and Indonesian cinnamon, nutmeg, mace, allspice and ginger. Also dipped them in melted butter, cinnamon and sugar after they were done. This recipe goes in my file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I make muffins almost every weekend for my family for breakfast during the week, school lunches, and snacks, and am always looking for new recipes. I had some unsweetened applesauce with mixed berry combo that I wanted to use up. I also used brown sugar in place of white, and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg in this recipe. The muffins smelled wonderful, and taste great! They are moist, with lots of apple flavour! Going to add this recipe to my file! Everyone likes them, including my toddler and husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Why would you ever buy store bought again?? This recipe is fast, easy, and oh so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
too much butter, made muffin oily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TARAB1
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
These were excellent!!! The only change I made was to add 1 cup oats in place of 1 of the cups of flour. I also added about 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and sprinkled a bit of brown sugar on top of each one prior to cooking. This made 20 regular sized muffins for me. The kids loved them and so did I! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I made these for our 4-H bake sale and they were great. I use PamperdChef Cinnamon Plus when a recipe calls for cinnamon and all spice instead. I also made a dutch apple type topping and sprinkled on before I baked. Used jumbo muffin pans so it made 12. Really great sold out the 1st day and had to make more for 2nd day. Will definatlly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
My husband and son LOVE these! Not overly sweet, but in a good way. I have added golden raisins and chopped apples to different batches with much success. I think if you use the raisins or apples, 1 cup is not enough--I always add two. Since the muffin isn't that sweet, you need more fruit to compensate--but that's just my preference. Great with butter or margarine, and super simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
AWESOME!!! Light and fluffy! I thought for sure there was a mistake when I started mixing the flour with the wet ingredients (4 c flour) but no... it was perfectly light and delicious! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States