Mother's Applesauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
This was great! My family wants more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
to die for....and the icing is absolutlely wonderful. Make the icing while the cake cools, then drizzle on. Very rich, you only need a small piece. This one went into my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
Best ever! I've baked it twice, came out perfect both times. And, believe it or not,the second time I substituted raw apple/carrot pulp from my juicer. Worked just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
Very moist, rich cake. I would recommend cutting back a bit on the cloves, but will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
I made this a cou[le of nights ago. I left out the raisins (kids don't like raisins but will add next time) I served with a lemon sauce, and the next night with butterscotch sauce I liked the lemon better. Nice moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
This cake is DELICIOUS ! Easy to make and turned out perfectly.---- The only change I made to the recipe was to leave out the dates and raisins. I made it into a sheet cake and topped with orange flavored cream cheese frosting. Yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
This would make a nice snacking cake even without the icing, but the fondant-like brown sugar topping should not be missed! Just pour it over the cooled cake immediately after beating in the confectioner's sugar - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmi331

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
This is a wonderful cake-one of the best I've ever eaten. I omitted the dates and raisins simply because I don't like them, and it was delicious. The cake is great by itself, but the frosting really makes this superb. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
Lovely recipe. I baked this for my Father for Father's Day. It reminded him of his mother's old-fashioned applesauce cake and he loved it. I used the recipe for Whipped Cream, Cream Cheese Frosting, instead, because that's the way my Dad remembers it. Thanks Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
Wonderful!! My mom said it is just like her mother used to make. Even the baby loved it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPECIALBEAUTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States