Mother's Applesauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2000
GOOD WAY TO USE UP LAST YEARS APPLESAUCE MINE CANNED WAS SWEETENED A BIT BUT I JUST USED LESS SUGAR THAN THE RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
This was great! My family wants more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
to die for....and the icing is absolutlely wonderful. Make the icing while the cake cools, then drizzle on. Very rich, you only need a small piece. This one went into my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
Very moist, rich cake. I would recommend cutting back a bit on the cloves, but will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
Best ever! I've baked it twice, came out perfect both times. And, believe it or not,the second time I substituted raw apple/carrot pulp from my juicer. Worked just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
I made this a cou[le of nights ago. I left out the raisins (kids don't like raisins but will add next time) I served with a lemon sauce, and the next night with butterscotch sauce I liked the lemon better. Nice moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
This cake is DELICIOUS ! Easy to make and turned out perfectly.---- The only change I made to the recipe was to leave out the dates and raisins. I made it into a sheet cake and topped with orange flavored cream cheese frosting. Yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
This would make a nice snacking cake even without the icing, but the fondant-like brown sugar topping should not be missed! Just pour it over the cooled cake immediately after beating in the confectioner's sugar - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
This is a wonderful cake-one of the best I've ever eaten. I omitted the dates and raisins simply because I don't like them, and it was delicious. The cake is great by itself, but the frosting really makes this superb. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
Lovely recipe. I baked this for my Father for Father's Day. It reminded him of his mother's old-fashioned applesauce cake and he loved it. I used the recipe for Whipped Cream, Cream Cheese Frosting, instead, because that's the way my Dad remembers it. Thanks Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States