Mother's Applesauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This is the best cake I have ever had. I took it to work for my birthday and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiline, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving as an alternative dessert for those who don't like pumpkin pie. It was a hit! The frosting is delicious, but very rich. Since the cake itself is pretty sweet, I recommend using half the amount of icing and just drizzling over the cake. Makes a nice presentation too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Very moist, tasy cake. It was a hit at the party and disappeared quickly! Thanks Cathy, will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
Wonderful!! My mom said it is just like her mother used to make. Even the baby loved it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPECIALBEAUTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
Lovely recipe. I baked this for my Father for Father's Day. It reminded him of his mother's old-fashioned applesauce cake and he loved it. I used the recipe for Whipped Cream, Cream Cheese Frosting, instead, because that's the way my Dad remembers it. Thanks Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
This is a wonderful cake-one of the best I've ever eaten. I omitted the dates and raisins simply because I don't like them, and it was delicious. The cake is great by itself, but the frosting really makes this superb. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
This would make a nice snacking cake even without the icing, but the fondant-like brown sugar topping should not be missed! Just pour it over the cooled cake immediately after beating in the confectioner's sugar - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmi331

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
This cake is DELICIOUS ! Easy to make and turned out perfectly.---- The only change I made to the recipe was to leave out the dates and raisins. I made it into a sheet cake and topped with orange flavored cream cheese frosting. Yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
I made this a cou[le of nights ago. I left out the raisins (kids don't like raisins but will add next time) I served with a lemon sauce, and the next night with butterscotch sauce I liked the lemon better. Nice moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
Best ever! I've baked it twice, came out perfect both times. And, believe it or not,the second time I substituted raw apple/carrot pulp from my juicer. Worked just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States