Mother's Applesauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This was delicious and so moist!!a big hit w/my daughter who doesn't even like applesauce!!I didn't add the dates as we don't really like them and I put in the oven on 350 for 40 minutes and it came out perfect!!I used a bundt pan and it looked so pretty!!Definatley will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This was SO delicious! Altho it didn't look, feel or taste anywhere near a "pound" cake it was an excellent cake just the same. It has a similiar consistency of a carrot cake, dense but not as heavy. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Truthfully, I wasn't expecting much from this cake....but, oh my, was I surprised! This is my daughter's new favorite cake - stating....I could eatt his all day long! She's 12, and picky! It was super! Thank you very much! (added 2 cups fresh apples)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This cake was wonderful! Very moist and full of flavor. I omitted the dates and used only half o the recommended walnuts. I also skipped the icing, it really didn't need it. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This is a delicious recipe. My picky slim trim daughter even ate 2 pieces with baked pears and raspberry sauce (3 desserts!) after dinner and so did everyone else. My husband ate more later that evening and kept saying how good it was. The Grandkids, everyone loved it. I did not add the fruit as the grandkids can be picky and the cake is plenty flavorful without the fruit and would be wonderful even without fruit or icing...I did add the frosting and it even got compliments so I was glad I added it. It's wonderful and carmel tasting for Fall with the apple flavor cake. I made my own unsweetned applesauce with golden delicious apples..(quick and easy to do). I used light brown sugar for cake and icing (I would call it more of a frosting than icing)...and unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This is a great cake - not too sweet! I left out the raisins and dates and added an extra cup of walnuts instead. I also omitted the frosting. I'm sure it would have been good, but was also wonderful without, and a lot less fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
This was really good cake--darker and spicier than I expected, but very moist and quite addictive. I skipped the icing but I think it would taste even better with a citrus-y frosting on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I reduced the cooking time to 1 hr 15 mins and felt I could have reduced it 5 mins. more. Although I liked this cake I found the spices to be be too overpowering and the frosting too sweet, especially for such a dense moist cake. Next time I will reduce the cloves to 1/2 tsp. and the cinnamon to 1 1/2 tsp. Also, I will just drizzle the icing lightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
This cake was wonderful! It is very easy to put together, and the flavor is fabulous! I couldn't find dates at the store, so I substituted it with chopped apple. This cake is not light, but it has a good texture and the smell is simply irresistable! The only complaint I have is that my pan was a little too small and I will have to find a bigger one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Wow! This cake is great!! I've been on an applesauce cake kick lately, but my search ends with this recipe. It makes a large cake using what I've come to think of as the traditional applesauce cake spices, cinnamon and cloves. I love its use of brown sugar, both the flavor it adds and the color it brings. It also uses much more applesauce than others, so not only is it incredibly moist, but you can actually SMELL and TASTE the applesauce, imagine that! I did omit the dates and raisins, out of personal preference. I baked mine in a bundt pan and then just dusted it with confectioners' sugar. Believe me, it doesn't need any frosting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States