Mother's Applesauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is a "make again" for our family. It is moist and delicious. I soaked the raisins in 1/4 cup brandy for about 30 minutes, then added it all to the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
A LOT of the flavor of this cake depends upon the applesauce used. This is an older recipe, created when applesauce wasn't diluted and had good flavor, sweetness, and some tang to it from the natural acid of the apples. There's a lot of watery applesauce out there these days, so taste yours first. If you can't get good stuff, quarter, core and microwave some apples in a covered dish until soft (the skins slip right off when it's done), and use that. I used a nice, flavorful, organic brand, but when I checked, it seemed low on acid, so, to make the cake rise well, I added a T. of cider vinegar to it. The cake rose a bit TOO well, almost overflowing the pan, so next time I will cut back to 2 tsps. ALSO, dates are very sweet, so if you are omitting them, be a bit generous w/ the sugar. Frankly, it's unfair to the recipe to omit all the add-ins, use watery applesauce, and then complain that the cake is bland. I did skip the dates and raisins, but kept the nuts, used only the amount of cinnamon and cloves called for, but compensated for the omissions by increasing the brown sugar and adding the same amount of powdered ginger as cinnamon. The cake turned out delicious w/ definite applesauce flavor, and I appreciated the restrained use of shortening. A keeper that I plan to make again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This cake is fabulous! It fills the house with the smells of Fall as it's baking. It's a dense, moist cake; kinda heavy after a big meal. I used 1/2 tsp of cloves because I don't like a strong clove taste. I left out the raisins, dates, and walnuts, and the cake was delicious without them, but I think it would be better with them. Also, based on some of the reviews, I sifted powdered sugar on top just before serving instead of using the icing; it was a perfect topping. My kids started begging for another cake as soon as we finished off the first one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was the most delicious, moist cake I've made in a very long time. I substituted the cloves with nutmeg since I didn't have any... and still turned out great! I made these into cupcakes with a peanut butter frosting. One happy husband at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikkijo22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Although the icing is great the cake was heavy, bland and we could taste the baking soda. I was thinking of ways to tweak the recipe - reduce the b.soda, add some b. powder, reduce the flour by a half cup etc. - but I think I will just choose a different appplesauce cake recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is a mixed review, but only because I had a very hard time creaming the butter and sugar. I gave it ten minutes and then added more butter. I've been baking for more than thirty years and while I'm not a professional, I believe I have lots of experience. It is obvious to me that this recipe is a little off when it comes to the proportions for butter and sugar. I added a tbsp of butter at a time and finally it felt right at 3/4 cup butter to 2c sugar. It creamed beautifully and I continued with the recipe. I halved the cloves and added nutmeg and cardamom instead. It was a very moist, very flavorful cake. The frosting was delectable, like a penuche fudge. I sprinkled walnuts on top and voila, it was a hit. Did anyone else have to tweak the butter? I'm curious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I baked this cake yesterday. I made all kinds of changes, not because I thought the recipe was lacking, but because I had to accommodate some ingredient shortages. I added one chopped apple to make up for a shortage of applesauce. I had to add some white sugar and a bit of molasses to compensate for s shortage of brown sugar. I didn't have raisins or dates, so I used a dried fruit trail mix instead. The cake turned out wonderfully. Very moist. Delicious. Six pieces were eaten before I got around to the icing, so I thought I'd just serve with whipped cream. No need that! The cake is perfect, just perfect all by itself! Exceptional. All we need it a photo to do it justice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casseopeia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Kentfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This cake is wonderful! Came out great. Next time, and there will be a next time, I'm going to cut the cloves to 1/2 tsp. Little too much with a whole tsp, but still marvelous. Icing is to die for. Going to do as another review suggests and freeze it in thirds as it is a HUGH cake and only 2 of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I chose this b/c my Father-in-law spoke of a cake his Mom used to make growing up. I typed in the ingredients and this came up. What do you know, it is the exact cake his Mom made. He LOVES it and so do I. It's a rich cake and somewhat heavy, so one cake goes a long, long way. Thanks you so much for posting it, what a blessing to my family. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winamac, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenback, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Very moist, great way to use a lot of applesauce. I used sweetened applesauce so I cut the amount of sugar in half. I also only added raisins and no nuts. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States