Mother-in-Law's Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Sue's recipes: Oct. 19, 2014 11:37 am I cook the pork chops in a skillet on stovetop; I only use the ketchup, onions and water. Salt & pepper the chops if desired, lightly brown in skillet, add the sliced onions and plop some ketchup on top, add a little water and let simmer with lid on. You will have to guess on ketchup and water amounts depending on how many you are making. You will end up with a nice red sauce/gravy-like, more than this picture shows. The onions will just about cook down and disappear. Simmer until chops are fork tender. --- Serve with boiled butter potatoes, (use salt & pepper)add dry parsley. Drizzle the red sauce over the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I learned this recipe about 23 years ago from a Better Homes and Gardens book. My husband and I like alot of sauce and serve it over rice, so I add alot more ketchup and brown sugar, 1 tablespoon of vinegar and I cover it the whole cooking time. I cut the cooking time to 1-1 1/2 hours depending on the thickness of my chops. We serve it with rice, sauce on the rice, and green beans. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Very similar to what my mother called 'Spanish Pork Chops'. I put pork chops in the roasting pan, squirt some ketchup & mustard on each one and mush it around with a fork. Top with thick slices of onion topped with a bit more ketchup and mustard. Bake for an hour...it'great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Recipe is pretty good as is! Easy! We have made this three times in the past 6 weeks, each time we make a few changes. Made it last night for dinner, with a few tweaks, and probably found a family fav!! Here is our version: Cooked it at 425 for 30-35 mins. Covered w/ foil first then remove with about 10 mins left to cook. Sliced onions into rings. Covered bottom of pan with onions. put pork chops on top of onions. Used 1 tsp. of vinegar, 1 tsp. of honey, 1/4 cup of ketchup, 1/4 cup of tangy bacon salad dressing, 1 tsp. of yellow mustard and 1 heaping tsp. of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashport, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I made these for dinner. I should have known better. Very thick boneless chops cooked for an hour in a covered dish and they were dry and near close to tough. No flavor-- the sauce slipped off the chops into the baking dish. At minimum, salt and pepper should be added. I guess this just isn't a recipe for me and it certainly didn't do anything for my desire to make a decent pork chop. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
We added more brown sugar, about 1/3 cup and also did like other with the 50/50 ketchup/tomato sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
It was good, but I have just 1 question. WHERE IS THE SAUCE. I took advice from others and doubled the sauce but there was nothing in the pan when I pulled it out of the oven. We all thought it was okay, but I wont make again. Could really taste the ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Very good. I substituted 1/4 cup tomato sauce for 1/4 cup of the ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Flavor was great. I made lots of extra sauce. I used red wine vinegar and a little chopped garlic and half ketchup/half tomato sauce. I was disapointed though - it was dry. I used 3/4in boneless chops and cooked them covered for 1hr uncovered 15 min.... to long for boneless (I guess). I will try this one again since I like the flavor, but definately shorter cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Thanks Cindy B. Great flavor, and you can cut the chops with a fork. I gave this recipe to a new cook, and her family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States