Mother-in-Law's Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
made this tonight and it was great.used heinz 57 instead of ketchup and a little more brown sugar.baked ,covered for 1hr 15min. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
We thought these were really good and super tender, however, I didn't have any *liquid* in my pan at all. In fact, I'm gonna double the sauce next time and brush it on the chops because the sauce sort of just stayed where I put it. I used bone-in chops, which I seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder prior to topping with the onions and sauce and they turned out nice and brown, just not very *saucy*. They did taste great though I just wish I would have made more sauce, but I definately will do that next time (yes, I will be making these again)! Oh, and I baked them for 1 hour and 15 minutes and during that time the house smelled heavenly. Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
More like 3.5 stars. I didn't love them, but they were definitely tender. They chops and topping seemed to make an awful lot of liquid in the dish, which the chops cooked in the whole time. That's why they were tender. But they didn't brown at all because of the liquid, and I really like my pork chops to be brown. Overall, the family enjoyed them more than I did, but they were definitely easy and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelasunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
The taste of these were great, and I will definitely make them again. However, I could not cut them with a fork, so we'll have to see if I can figure out how to get them more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Reviewed 8/27/09 by Cheri My husband and I loved the pork chops baked this way. I did add 2 more teaspoons of brown sugar. He told me the receipe was a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
It was pretty good. Felt like something was missing, but I'm not exactly sure what. It needs some type of spices added to it though. Next time I make it, I'll be trying some out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I'm sorry but I didn't care for this much. It just tasted too ketchupy. I only put in half the ketchup and it still had too much of the taste. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn Masterjohn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oroville, Washington, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I used tomato sauce instead of ketchup and it turned out so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was really good! I used seasoning salt, garlic powder, and red cayenne pepper to spice the chops up a little bit before adding the sauce. I made the sauce as others suggested 1/2 ketchup & 1/2 tomato sauce and kept everything else the same. Cooked only for 1.5hrs and they came out moist & tasty!!! My family loved them. I will make them again. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
These are really good. Thinner chops need less cooking time. I add a bunch of spices to the sauce, and the chops come out moist and delicious everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States