Mother-in-Law's Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Sue's recipes: Oct. 19, 2014 11:37 am I cook the pork chops in a skillet on stovetop; I only use the ketchup, onions and water. Salt & pepper the chops if desired, lightly brown in skillet, add the sliced onions and plop some ketchup on top, add a little water and let simmer with lid on. You will have to guess on ketchup and water amounts depending on how many you are making. You will end up with a nice red sauce/gravy-like, more than this picture shows. The onions will just about cook down and disappear. Simmer until chops are fork tender. --- Serve with boiled butter potatoes, (use salt & pepper)add dry parsley. Drizzle the red sauce over the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I learned this recipe about 23 years ago from a Better Homes and Gardens book. My husband and I like alot of sauce and serve it over rice, so I add alot more ketchup and brown sugar, 1 tablespoon of vinegar and I cover it the whole cooking time. I cut the cooking time to 1-1 1/2 hours depending on the thickness of my chops. We serve it with rice, sauce on the rice, and green beans. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Very similar to what my mother called 'Spanish Pork Chops'. I put pork chops in the roasting pan, squirt some ketchup & mustard on each one and mush it around with a fork. Top with thick slices of onion topped with a bit more ketchup and mustard. Bake for an hour...it'great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Recipe is pretty good as is! Easy! We have made this three times in the past 6 weeks, each time we make a few changes. Made it last night for dinner, with a few tweaks, and probably found a family fav!! Here is our version: Cooked it at 425 for 30-35 mins. Covered w/ foil first then remove with about 10 mins left to cook. Sliced onions into rings. Covered bottom of pan with onions. put pork chops on top of onions. Used 1 tsp. of vinegar, 1 tsp. of honey, 1/4 cup of ketchup, 1/4 cup of tangy bacon salad dressing, 1 tsp. of yellow mustard and 1 heaping tsp. of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashport, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I made these for dinner. I should have known better. Very thick boneless chops cooked for an hour in a covered dish and they were dry and near close to tough. No flavor-- the sauce slipped off the chops into the baking dish. At minimum, salt and pepper should be added. I guess this just isn't a recipe for me and it certainly didn't do anything for my desire to make a decent pork chop. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
We added more brown sugar, about 1/3 cup and also did like other with the 50/50 ketchup/tomato sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
It was good, but I have just 1 question. WHERE IS THE SAUCE. I took advice from others and doubled the sauce but there was nothing in the pan when I pulled it out of the oven. We all thought it was okay, but I wont make again. Could really taste the ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Very good. I substituted 1/4 cup tomato sauce for 1/4 cup of the ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Flavor was great. I made lots of extra sauce. I used red wine vinegar and a little chopped garlic and half ketchup/half tomato sauce. I was disapointed though - it was dry. I used 3/4in boneless chops and cooked them covered for 1hr uncovered 15 min.... to long for boneless (I guess). I will try this one again since I like the flavor, but definately shorter cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Thanks Cindy B. Great flavor, and you can cut the chops with a fork. I gave this recipe to a new cook, and her family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States