Mother-In-Law Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I love deviled eggs and I hate making them, but I am in training to be the sweetest and most devilish mother-in-law ever, so I thought I had better give these a whirl. I had to use HOT mustard instead of "Sweet Hot Mr. Mustard," because thats what I had - and I simply can't pipe anything, so I just filled my eggs with my cookie scoop - but I followed the recipe otherwise. Fantastic! I wish I had more. Thanks for the recipe! ♥
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
We LOVED THESE! I didn't even realized that your recipe got published (CONGRATULATIONS!!!!) until I saw SunnyPie's mouth-watering picture this morning. I had everything on hand and knew I HAD to make these for lunch today! I always make mine w/ the traditional relish and yellow mustard, but we thought these were way better than those, lol! We really loved the addition of the spicy and hot mustards and the green olive on top made these perfect! This will be my new go to recipe for deviled eggs. Thanks, SHORECOOK for a wonderfully simple and delicious recipe that has become a new favorite at my house! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Oh My. . . .Yum! If you are a deviled egg fan than I would double this recipe. I had to make a second batch because the first batch never made it out of my kitchen. First time using sugar in a deviled egg and I added horseradish along with the mustards because that was mom's secret ingredient. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPPGRRL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ellensburg, Washington, USA
Living In: Wheeler, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by icook
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
These deviled eggs were delicious. I would give them a 4 1/2 stars if possible. Instead of the hot mustard, I used honey mustard. It worked perfectly. I also left the pimento-stuffed green olives off because I didn't have them. I added Worcestershire sauce to the mix as well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
simply the best!!! Better than all the rest!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe! I really enjoyed these eggs. Since my family isn't into spicy, I used regular yellow and dijon mustard instead of the spicy and hot mustards. I also skipped the pimento stuffed olives...I didn't have any, and my family doesn't care for them. I found that the best way to make a nice, smooth filling that's easy to pipe is to use my hand mixer to mash the yolks, and then beat in the other ingredients. I made one recipe the first time, and they were so good that Geranium and I just made a double batch. Thanks for sharing the recipe...these are great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These were addictive. Added a little pickle juice and cayenne for heat. Very creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bequita84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I'm sorry I guess I am just not a mustard person so I really did not like these at all. I think it is just my personal taste, didn't care for the sweet taste in the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I am the submitter of this recipe and I would like to add a little more information. Often times "Mr. Mustard" is found in the refrigerated section of your grocery store. My submitted recipe was written using "Original Mr. Mustard" so either "Original" or "Sweet Hot" will work. (or your favorite hot mustard) The hot mustard gives this recipe it's kick while the olive adds just enough saltiness to it. I hope this information helps you to enjoy my recipe. Thank you to everyone who tries it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
These were pretty good although something is definitely missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Boil Eggs

See how to boil the perfect egg—and get tips for easy peeling and chopping.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States