Mother-in-law Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Good basic recipe. Needs spicing up a bit with salt, parsley or other herbs but it's a good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I made this last evening to have a for a quick lunch today. I left the vegetables in it and added the dripping from when I roasted the chicken. Only to get up this morning to a pot of mush. So before I can even eat this I have to add more broth or have a mushy casserole. Not impressed!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
While this soup was very tasty, it was a lot more labor intensive than I thought - specifically when it came to removing the chicken meat from the skin and bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsWrite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrillan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was pretty good! Followed almost exactly ~ just used brown rice instead of white and cooked it in my slow cooker. My children gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Great recipe that my family loved- I kept the recipe the same and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I always make this after Thanksgiving and Christmas. With turkey. And freeze it to serve on cold nights when I don't really feel like cooking. You can dress it up with all kinds of stuff. Just use your imagination and tastse buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudiapatx
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was an absolutely delicious soup! My roommate had three bowls and couldn't stop raving about it. I did make a couple changes. I added a little bit of chili powder (three pinches or so) for some excitement and then four bay leaves (which I let simmer) to pull the flavors together. But overall, an amazing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bspani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
It is just what it claims to be a good soup for when your sick. It is bland but can be spiced up for the occasion. It's a good soup and I made it for my 7 year old who is home sick with the flu and he liked it. If your looking for a show stopper this isn't it but for a basic soup that is gental on the stomach I recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Good base for soup, but needs a bit more flavor. I kept veggies in the pot. For some reason my rice ended up absorbing all the soup and leftovers were more like a casserole. That was probably my fault!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I give this recipe a 4-star rating only because of the slight tweaking I did. Great soup, but as MaMaw recommended, I used water and added Garlic herb soup mix, left the carrots and celery in. I also added brown minute rice. Excellent recipe for seasonal flu! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMMERS1104

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States