Mostaccioli Mosta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I’ve made this recipe for over 20 years and it is very versatile. I always use a large can of pureed tomatoes in sauce otherwise there is not enough sauce. Substitute chopped green peppers and mushrooms for the ground beef if serving to non-meat eaters. It tastes just as good. Add a sprinkle of cayenne for a little pizzazz. Great dish for pot lucks. Buon appetito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
I mixed the meat sauce with the noodles and topped with the cheese and baked at 350 for approx 20 minutes (instead of broiling). Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Great recipe! I double the tomato sauce or else there isn't enough. Aside from that it has turned out to be a new favorite dish. Its quick and easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
So yummy! Had to make a couple changes due to what I had in the pantry. No tomato sauce so I used 15 oz of petite diced tomatoes with a clove of fresh minced garlic instead of the garlic powder. I tossed the butter in the colander with the pasta and put the pasta right into the skillet with the meat sauce then topped with the mozzarella. Came out great!! I used the called for amount of salt and thought it needed more after cooking- you have to use tomatoe sauce; not a spaghetti sauce. If you use a spaghetti sauce forget the salt. Good yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
Instead of adding the cheese and then placing it under the broiler I did as some of the other reviews suggested and just sprinkled the cheese on top and let the heat from the food melt the cheese. This was truley wonderful. My whole family loved this and can't wait for me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Although I did make a couple of modifications, I loved this recipe as the ingredients mesh together well. I doubled the tomato sauce and cheese and added a little sweet bell pepper, garlic and onion to the sautéed ground beef before adding the tomato sauce. I also just eyeballed the parmesan cheese as I grated it, so I think it was more than 1/4 up. I also baked it for 15 to 20 mins at 350 like others suggested. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was pretty dry and salty, and too meaty. If I did bother to make it again, I'd cut the meat to one fourth, and triple the tomato sauce. But I won't bother making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This was an easy recipe to make and my husband really enjoyed it! As recommended by other reviewers, I mixed everything together and baked it for 20 minutes at 350 degrees. I made this recipe a second time and added two Italian sausages and some onion and minced garlic to the meat mixture (also put in some extra pasta sauce). It was even better! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
This is so easy and so tasty!....I love the touch of black olives....it adds an extra flavor to this dish....try it..you like it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I thought the sauce needed something, it tasted a little flat. It was okay but my family didn't care for it so I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States