Most Spectacular Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jessicaimpromptu
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This was my first pie, and it was so easy! I used trader joe's pie crust. I altered the recipe a bit- I mashed up half of the strawberries with the flour, sugars, vanilla, and almond extract (omitted the cinnamon and nutmeg.. it didn't seem to go.) then I sliced up the other half of the strawberrys and arranged them on top. I latticed the top crust, which was also my first time and it was easy. I then did a light milk wash and sprinkled raw sugar all over. I made a heart with some extra crust and cut out my friend's initial (it's her birthday pie). I made 2 little mini pies with the left overs and it was absolutely amazing. the almond extract really made it unique! Can't wait to make more pies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelly Welch
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I agree with some comments that the flavors are a bit overwhelming. I did end up reducing the vanilla and almond extract to 1/2 TSP each and used just a tinge less white & brown sugar (since My strawberries were pretty sweet). I also cooked it my two pies at 350* for 35 minutes and it ended up perfect. 450* for 45 minutes was too much for my first attempt and the edges got a bit toasty. All and all I love this pie! Even won a contest with it, so I'll definitely be making this (with revisions) again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Welch

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hudson, Iowa, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grandmafish
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
We had a bumper crop of Oregon strawberries from our backyard garden this year and couldn't eat them fast enough, so I needed a strawberry pie recipe fast! I chose this one, following the recipe exactly using a prepared pie crust and freshly-ground nutmeg with the fresh strawberries. The pie turned out photo-perfect and tasted simply scrumptious, sweet and delicious with a perfect crust! It truly is the Most Spectacular Strawberry Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmafish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
this I awesome!!!I really liked this pie although next time I will omit the almond extract because it was overpowering but it is fast and easy to make and that makes it even better because as a 14yo I have a slight lack of patience
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This looked and taste GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This is the first strawberry pie I have made. I did not add the nutmeg or the almond extract. Instead, I added extra cinnamon and vanilla extract in place of the ingredients I left out. It turned out great!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I think overall this recipe works. The flavor was good, but I didn't love it and I don't think it is the recipes fault. I guess I am just not a strawberry pie fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Fabulous pie. I needed to add more strawberries through! Still turned out well and had lots of compliments! I can't wait to make another one! I used Butter Flaky Pie Crust and it went very well together. Thank you Elyssa and Tara!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzy_p

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This pie is so easy! I did not use any extracts, as I did not have any on hand, and I did not use nutmeg or cinnamon. This pie still turned out great. A little sweet, but we used freshly picked strawberries. I am sure if I had used the sour grocery store type, I would have had to use just as much sugar. Also, I did not use a lattice crust, I simply put a frozen pie shell on top and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I thought this pie was great! I didn't use almond extract and halved the vanilla. However, it turned out very yummy! I thought the strawberry flavors came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States