Most Amazing Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Sunday morning, while arranging a shelf of stored dry goods, I noticed I had some bread flour that I had to use by December's end. So needless to say I was all in for the 12 cups of flour the full recipe called for. I'm glad to have done it that way for three reasons. One was that I like to try recipes I come across as they were posted because I figure this is the sweet spot according to the poster. Not being much of a baker and baking being so scientific I tend not to stray off the beaten path too far. The second was because it took a large chunk out of one of the three bags I have to get crafty with in the coming weeks. Lastly, because I needed the four loaves. The tasty buggers were gone quicker than they took to rise. I gave it five stars because each of the loaves won't last more than 5 minutes after joining the party and because with this recipe, I can confidently rock out with my Challah out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I used this recipe for my first time making challah last night and I won't use another. This was definitely amazing and it was all gone in one evening. I cut the recipe in half and just made to loaves. I may make more tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This recipe is so easy and the bread was delicious! I cut the recipe in half and made 2 nice sized loaves. Didn't get a chance to cool. One loaf was gone almost as soon as it came out of the oven! Thanks for posting! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
made this for the first and it came out wonderfull . i will make this again . much better than store bought. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
AGREED! I have probably made 30-40 challahs over the past few years and this recipe is probably the best! As others stated, I also cut the recipe in half to get two generous sized challahs. You do need to have a little experience with bread dough to know how much flour to add. Cutting it in half, I still added about 1 more cup (7 total) to get that perfect baby bottom consistency. Instead of seeds, I added course sea salt on top....YUM! THANKS FOR SHARING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
an extremely good challah, easy, quick and nice texture, one problem with your recipe....cool before slicing??? I was lucky there was any left to cool!!!! son attacked it as soon as it was out of oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Absolutely perfect! My 11-year-old daughter and I made this recipe today and it is the best Challah we've ever done. We did a half recipe and it made two generous loaves. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Delicious indeed!! Mine only took 25 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by c'estbeaulavie
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
i've never had challah before but i'm in love with this! i'm very much new to making bread, and it still turned out awesome! very moist and simple. for a 6-strand braid. looks complicated but it takes no time and looks impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This is the most delisious bread I've made in a long time. I even made whole wheat Challah with this recipe by using half white and half wheat. Thank you. Charlotte Wilmeth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States