Most Amazing Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This really IS amazing challah, and SO easy to make. I've made it a few times and have gotten many compliments. Just FYI, you don't have to use rapid rise yeast; you can use regular active dry yeast, you just have to mix it with the water and let it sit for a few minutes to dissolve. The braided loaf doubled within one hour, and then baked up beautifully. My house smells wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda P
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was my first time making Challah and our whole family is IN LOVE! What a wonderful recipe. I halved the recipe and used my bread machine, turned out amazing! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This bread recipe is easy and super delish! But the best part is it comes out of the oven looking picture perfect! Thank you for posting this recipe. I bake fairly often and this recipe is requested most often by friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This is the fifth time I have made this Challah recipe. I gave a loaf to some of our Jewish friends, they have eaten Challa all over the world and said that mine was the BEST they had ever eaten, not too sweet, not too eggy and not too dry. Just right! So hearing this I feel very confidant in saying that this IS the BEST Challah you can make. I used my KitchenAid mixmaster to do all of the combining then worked in the last few cups by hand. I also cut back 1 TBSP. of yeast, (using 3 TBSP) and used Traditional yeast (dry active) instead of QuickRise yeast and butter instead of margarine, it took an hour longer than this recipe suggests. I had some wonderful Mexican vanilla and used that instead of regular pure vanilla. The fragrance while cooking always makes me salivate! Don't be afraid to try this one, it will be worth the effort. Out of this recipe you can easily make 5 loaves of bread. Open the windows while your baking this bread, all your neighbours will be jealous!!! A big thanks to Palsar7 for offering us this beautiful foolproof recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This was the best Challah I have ever eaten. The family loved it too. I halved the recipe like other reviewers did. I mixed and kneaded by hand. I added some honey to the dough and the eggwash and substituted butter for margarine. Baked for 25 minutes. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. I will make challah from now on. No more buying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di0823

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I baked this bread Friday (9/21/12) for a pot luck dinner and OMG it was wonderful and turned out beautifully. I cut the recipe in half because - well, who needs four loaves of bread, ha ha. This is definitely a keeper. Everyone loved it and it looked so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Fantastic - we've made this about 10 times and get rave reviews every time we make it!! We cut the recipe to 1/4 (to make one loaf) and don't use the sesame seeds - we don't adjust the the egg wash (egg & vanilla) because the vanilla flavor adds so much to the bread. This will be your go-to bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This recipe is absolutely fantastic! Everyone loved it and it's really easy to make. I added the 12 cups of flour, and then when kneading and braiding the dough, added more flour as necessary. Definitely going to be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Best Challah I've ever made and soooo easy my two year old could almost make it herself! I am never ever buying Challah again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakiah Burnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Dangerous bread! I ate so much of it because it was SO good! I halved it and still got 2 large loaves! A new love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States