Most Amazing Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I confused I must be the only one with an issue... Dough was nice enough, braided well but when rose it was all over the place like a hot mess.... Braid didn't stay tight just looked like a big lumpy mess.. Did four loaves and all turned out the same... I'm no expert bread maker but have made bread for many years and this in appearance for me was just aweful, other recipes were fine so I'm trying to figure out what went wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Just made this recipe. It is excellent!!! Made challah many times and this is by far the easiest, quickest, and lightest and fluffiest challach ever!!! thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
very nice, but a little too sweet for me... next time I will use less sugar... I think that is just my personal taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Novi Sad, Vojvodina, Serbia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Wow. Soft, slightly sweet, very versatile--could be served for literally any meal. And looks absolutely lovely, so it makes a great gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Great recipe! I used regular active dry yeast, but started by allowing a sponge to proof containing all the water, all the yeast, and about a third of the flour. Once that's going, it's easy adding the remaining ingredients. I agree that the last flour additions are best done in 1/2-cup increments. I'm not fond of "flavored" breads to eat, say, with scrambled eggs, so I omitted the vanilla with the egg wash. That's a personal quirk and doesn't reflect on the quality of this recipe, at all. As noted by others, the recipe halves easily. It also freezes well. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made this recipe with wheat flour. It came out amazing! Named very appropriately. I turned on the oven on like 200 degrees and let the dough rise on top of the stove for a little over an our. My family loved it and called it their favorite homemade bread. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Just finished making this bread so that I can make crème brulee French toast tomorrow. It is FANTASTIC!!!!! Finally cool enough for me to have a small piece with a little bit of butter....sooooo good! First time making it and it was very simple. Wasn't sure what the dough was suppose to "feel" like before I was ready to roll it out, but it still came out perfect. The texture is to die for...seriously! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Amazing! Delicious! I halved the recipe and it gave me 2 big loaves. Everyone loved it. Tnx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is my go to recipe for challah or "Hawaiian sweet bread". It makes beautiful braided loaves, 3 oz. rolls, and sandwich loaves. Since it uses dry yeast, I can plan on having bread in about 3-3.5 hrs. I only use the glaze for braids. On this site you can easily scale the recipe. Any left overs make excellent French toast. Baked loaves also freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
My first ever Challah and it turned out awesome! :) I only used 1/4 of this recipe and got a pretty big challah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States