Most Amazing Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I LOVE this recipe and so do all my friends and family! Thank you so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is phenomenal! I cut the serving size to 8 as I only needed one loaf. I also used my bread machine to mix the dough. The resulting dough was wonderful to work with and easy to braid. The finished bread has a light, airy texture and the crust has just the right amount of bite. This is truly amazing! Thanks for a great recipe! Update: I used the leftover bread to make the best French toast I've ever eaten! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
OUTSTANDING! We celebrated the Jewish New Year at a popular Jewish Deli called Herald's last Thursday evening with my husband's extended Jewish family. I am Episcopalian, so have been learning about the Jewish Holidays and foods over the past 10 years that I've been with my husband. My five year old tried Challah for the first time and liked it. This being the case, and also wanting to thank my in-laws for babysitting, I tried to attempt making Challah from scratch for my daughter to eat and to give a loaf to my in-laws. I have never worked with yeast before. I just followed the directions and it came out outrageously fantastic! The whole house smelled great, my in-laws and sister-in-law loved it and best of all, my five year old declared, "This is much better than it was at Herald's!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Iv'e made many different challah recipes and tasted from all over the world however this recipe is the best!!!! do you have any chocolate babka recipes???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I've never made homemade bread but this was super easy & amazingly delicious! Will definitely make again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Junction City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I have never baked bread before so this was quite an adventure. But I had fun following the recipe and the challah turned out quite tasty. I left it in the oven for 30 mins and that turned out to be a tad too long; next time I'll check on the bread at about 25 minutes. I might also add a bit more sugar. But there will definitely be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
THIS WAS SO FAST AND EASY AND OF COURSE AS DELICIOUS AS IS GRORGEOUS! i HALVED THE RECIPE AND IT MADE ONE 24" GIANT IMPRESSIVE LOAF. bIGGEST TASTIEST BREAD i EVER SAW OR ATE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This came out very nicely. I cut the recipe in half and used my bread machine to mix the dough. I then moved it to a bowl to rise. One loaf was made into french toast bread pudding and one will be eaten in the normal fashion. The bread is nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Raises wonderfully!! Looks and tastes great. I've made Challah bread before and it was good, but this is by far better. I cut the recipe in half and still was able to get 2 very nice size loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladylace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terra Alta, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This Challah is Awesome! Everyone who has tasted it has LOVED it and can't stop eating it. I lived in Israel for awhile- and have tried many a'Challah in my time and this one is my favorite recipe so far. I half the recipe and it gives me two prefect sized loafs. I also use real butter. And usually add a bit more sugar- or honey - when I wet the yeast. Its great! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States