Most Amazing Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lmailman
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Best challah I've ever eaten. Very easy too! A few tips: don't mix dough in a metal bowl. When I do this, it doesn't rise as well. Not sure if it's because it dissipates the heat from the hot water and doesn't active the dough as well? Also, use "rapid rise" dry yeast, not just the regular dry active. And, if you 1/2 or 1/4 the recipe, err on the side of having more sugar, rather than less, so you're sure to get the yeast active. Also if you halve or quarter the recipe, add the flour in 1/2 cups at a time, rather than one cup at a time - it will be easier to work with. I have also found that you can actually allow the loaf to rise TOO much before baking - if this happens, the loaf will be flatter, and you wont get that impressive doming of a 6 braided loaf. An hour of rising time is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is phenomenal! I cut the serving size to 8 as I only needed one loaf. I also used my bread machine to mix the dough. The resulting dough was wonderful to work with and easy to braid. The finished bread has a light, airy texture and the crust has just the right amount of bite. This is truly amazing! Thanks for a great recipe! Update: I used the leftover bread to make the best French toast I've ever eaten! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
OUTSTANDING! We celebrated the Jewish New Year at a popular Jewish Deli called Herald's last Thursday evening with my husband's extended Jewish family. I am Episcopalian, so have been learning about the Jewish Holidays and foods over the past 10 years that I've been with my husband. My five year old tried Challah for the first time and liked it. This being the case, and also wanting to thank my in-laws for babysitting, I tried to attempt making Challah from scratch for my daughter to eat and to give a loaf to my in-laws. I have never worked with yeast before. I just followed the directions and it came out outrageously fantastic! The whole house smelled great, my in-laws and sister-in-law loved it and best of all, my five year old declared, "This is much better than it was at Herald's!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
AGREED! I have probably made 30-40 challahs over the past few years and this recipe is probably the best! As others stated, I also cut the recipe in half to get two generous sized challahs. You do need to have a little experience with bread dough to know how much flour to add. Cutting it in half, I still added about 1 more cup (7 total) to get that perfect baby bottom consistency. Instead of seeds, I added course sea salt on top....YUM! THANKS FOR SHARING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This Challah is Awesome! Everyone who has tasted it has LOVED it and can't stop eating it. I lived in Israel for awhile- and have tried many a'Challah in my time and this one is my favorite recipe so far. I half the recipe and it gives me two prefect sized loafs. I also use real butter. And usually add a bit more sugar- or honey - when I wet the yeast. Its great! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
THIS WAS SO FAST AND EASY AND OF COURSE AS DELICIOUS AS IS GRORGEOUS! i HALVED THE RECIPE AND IT MADE ONE 24" GIANT IMPRESSIVE LOAF. bIGGEST TASTIEST BREAD i EVER SAW OR ATE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Raises wonderfully!! Looks and tastes great. I've made Challah bread before and it was good, but this is by far better. I cut the recipe in half and still was able to get 2 very nice size loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladylace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terra Alta, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This came out very nicely. I cut the recipe in half and used my bread machine to mix the dough. I then moved it to a bowl to rise. One loaf was made into french toast bread pudding and one will be eaten in the normal fashion. The bread is nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laura00cole
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was amazing! My fiance is jewish and he said that this was the best Challah he's ever had (and it was made by a gentile). I did cut the recipe in half and it still made two really large loaves. I also added in 2 teaspoons of Rosemary before mixing the flour - it really enhanced the sweetness of the bread. I will definitely be making this again!! Thank you Palsar7!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was my first time making challah bread and it turned out great! I should have used either bread flour or more wheat gluten to make it fluffier but it was wonderful for dinner and french toast. Mmm, mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States