Most Amazing Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Sunday morning, while arranging a shelf of stored dry goods, I noticed I had some bread flour that I had to use by December's end. So needless to say I was all in for the 12 cups of flour the full recipe called for. I'm glad to have done it that way for three reasons. One was that I like to try recipes I come across as they were posted because I figure this is the sweet spot according to the poster. Not being much of a baker and baking being so scientific I tend not to stray off the beaten path too far. The second was because it took a large chunk out of one of the three bags I have to get crafty with in the coming weeks. Lastly, because I needed the four loaves. The tasty buggers were gone quicker than they took to rise. I gave it five stars because each of the loaves won't last more than 5 minutes after joining the party and because with this recipe, I can confidently rock out with my Challah out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I used this recipe for my first time making challah last night and I won't use another. This was definitely amazing and it was all gone in one evening. I cut the recipe in half and just made to loaves. I may make more tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This recipe is so easy and the bread was delicious! I cut the recipe in half and made 2 nice sized loaves. Didn't get a chance to cool. One loaf was gone almost as soon as it came out of the oven! Thanks for posting! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
made this for the first and it came out wonderfull . i will make this again . much better than store bought. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
AGREED! I have probably made 30-40 challahs over the past few years and this recipe is probably the best! As others stated, I also cut the recipe in half to get two generous sized challahs. You do need to have a little experience with bread dough to know how much flour to add. Cutting it in half, I still added about 1 more cup (7 total) to get that perfect baby bottom consistency. Instead of seeds, I added course sea salt on top....YUM! THANKS FOR SHARING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
an extremely good challah, easy, quick and nice texture, one problem with your recipe....cool before slicing??? I was lucky there was any left to cool!!!! son attacked it as soon as it was out of oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Absolutely perfect! My 11-year-old daughter and I made this recipe today and it is the best Challah we've ever done. We did a half recipe and it made two generous loaves. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Delicious indeed!! Mine only took 25 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by c'estbeaulavie
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
i've never had challah before but i'm in love with this! i'm very much new to making bread, and it still turned out awesome! very moist and simple. for a 6-strand braid. looks complicated but it takes no time and looks impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This is the most delisious bread I've made in a long time. I even made whole wheat Challah with this recipe by using half white and half wheat. Thank you. Charlotte Wilmeth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States