Most Amazing Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Oh, WOW! These were the biggest loaves I have ever seen or made. I made two, and only one loaf could fit in the oven, so I used both ovens. The taste is wonderful. The smell of vanilla during baking filled the entire house, and even outdoors you could smell it. The texture is great, too, and is very soft. I used this recipe for french toast, and everyone said it was the best they have ever tasted. I agree, personally. The only downside to making two large ones is, that you have to scrub the oven door because it won't fit! And you can use any yeast you have on hand, not just quick-rise yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Guy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This bread is delicious. I have always been challenged by yeast breads so developed my bread making around buttermilk biscuits instead. However, I wanted to give this yeast bread a try because there were so many positive reviews. I cut the recipe to eight servings (one loaf). I followed the recipe exactly and even used a thermometer to make sure my water was 110 degrees. I am really surprised how well it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by albj
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Excellent taste and beautiful looking bread. I cut the recipe in half and made two loaves. I then went to Youtube and found out how to braid a six strand challah bread. Who knew? I do now and I will keep making this wonderful recipe....thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by albj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Onika101
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This worked out beautifully, though I didn't quite realize just how much bread I was making at the time! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This really IS amazing challah, and SO easy to make. I've made it a few times and have gotten many compliments. Just FYI, you don't have to use rapid rise yeast; you can use regular active dry yeast, you just have to mix it with the water and let it sit for a few minutes to dissolve. The braided loaf doubled within one hour, and then baked up beautifully. My house smells wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mumof3
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was my first time making Challah and our whole family is IN LOVE! What a wonderful recipe. I halved the recipe and used my bread machine, turned out amazing! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This bread recipe is easy and super delish! But the best part is it comes out of the oven looking picture perfect! Thank you for posting this recipe. I bake fairly often and this recipe is requested most often by friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This is the fifth time I have made this Challah recipe. I gave a loaf to some of our Jewish friends, they have eaten Challa all over the world and said that mine was the BEST they had ever eaten, not too sweet, not too eggy and not too dry. Just right! So hearing this I feel very confidant in saying that this IS the BEST Challah you can make. I used my KitchenAid mixmaster to do all of the combining then worked in the last few cups by hand. I also cut back 1 TBSP. of yeast, (using 3 TBSP) and used Traditional yeast (dry active) instead of QuickRise yeast and butter instead of margarine, it took an hour longer than this recipe suggests. I had some wonderful Mexican vanilla and used that instead of regular pure vanilla. The fragrance while cooking always makes me salivate! Don't be afraid to try this one, it will be worth the effort. Out of this recipe you can easily make 5 loaves of bread. Open the windows while your baking this bread, all your neighbours will be jealous!!! A big thanks to Palsar7 for offering us this beautiful foolproof recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This was the best Challah I have ever eaten. The family loved it too. I halved the recipe like other reviewers did. I mixed and kneaded by hand. I added some honey to the dough and the eggwash and substituted butter for margarine. Baked for 25 minutes. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. I will make challah from now on. No more buying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di0823

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I baked this bread Friday (9/21/12) for a pot luck dinner and OMG it was wonderful and turned out beautifully. I cut the recipe in half because - well, who needs four loaves of bread, ha ha. This is definitely a keeper. Everyone loved it and it looked so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States