Most Amazing Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is my go to recipe for challah or "Hawaiian sweet bread". It makes beautiful braided loaves, 3 oz. rolls, and sandwich loaves. Since it uses dry yeast, I can plan on having bread in about 3-3.5 hrs. I only use the glaze for braids. On this site you can easily scale the recipe. Any left overs make excellent French toast. Baked loaves also freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
My first ever Challah and it turned out awesome! :) I only used 1/4 of this recipe and got a pretty big challah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindadg
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
It was easy to make and it turned out delicious. I cut the recipe in half and made two loaves. Can't wait to make french toast with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Great recipe! Was fast and easy! I have been struggling with making challah for awhile and this was perfect 1st shot!! Will be my Friday night staple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marykevinaz
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This is the best challah I have ever made. It is light, fluffy and delicious. I made half a recipe. The first loaf I baked after 2 rises. The dough for the other loaf is in the fridge. I expect it to taste even better after sitting in the fridge for a few hours or overnight. I didn't use vanilla extract in the egg wash because I am out of it. I will use it next time though. I also used regular yeast. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Oh, WOW! These were the biggest loaves I have ever seen or made. I made two, and only one loaf could fit in the oven, so I used both ovens. The taste is wonderful. The smell of vanilla during baking filled the entire house, and even outdoors you could smell it. The texture is great, too, and is very soft. I used this recipe for french toast, and everyone said it was the best they have ever tasted. I agree, personally. The only downside to making two large ones is, that you have to scrub the oven door because it won't fit! And you can use any yeast you have on hand, not just quick-rise yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Guy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This bread is delicious. I have always been challenged by yeast breads so developed my bread making around buttermilk biscuits instead. However, I wanted to give this yeast bread a try because there were so many positive reviews. I cut the recipe to eight servings (one loaf). I followed the recipe exactly and even used a thermometer to make sure my water was 110 degrees. I am really surprised how well it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by albj
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Excellent taste and beautiful looking bread. I cut the recipe in half and made two loaves. I then went to Youtube and found out how to braid a six strand challah bread. Who knew? I do now and I will keep making this wonderful recipe....thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by albj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Onika101
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This worked out beautifully, though I didn't quite realize just how much bread I was making at the time! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This really IS amazing challah, and SO easy to make. I've made it a few times and have gotten many compliments. Just FYI, you don't have to use rapid rise yeast; you can use regular active dry yeast, you just have to mix it with the water and let it sit for a few minutes to dissolve. The braided loaf doubled within one hour, and then baked up beautifully. My house smells wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States