Most Amazing Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Guys! The best Challah recipe is here http://foody2.wix.com/bestchallahrecipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Having never tasted Challah before, I committed the obvious folly of only making one loaf. Yes friends, I quartered the recipe. But it was evident after the first bite that one loaf of Challah just couldn't be shared between three people. In fact, it was so tasty I popped out another within the week. Tried substituting sugar with honey in the first loaf, which was fine. The second time around I didn't, and it turned out great then too. The only permanent change I made to the recipe was adding vanilla extract. (I also choose to nix the sesame seeds and add a bit of cream to the egg wash.) Make sure to let the yeast dissolve all the way, and that lumps are mixed out completely with each addition of flour. Although the first loaf still turned out great, I mixed lazily. But I thoroughly blended with the second and it was superior, coming out noticeably lighter and fluffier. In reading reviews you might've stumbled across the legend of Challah-French-Toast. Well, that smoke was not without fire and I may or may not have indulged making it... Thrice. So, this is clearly a wonderful recipe! Simple, beautiful and quick. Delicious either plain or dressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I tried this using my bread machine to mix the dough. I bake a challah every week and thought I'd try a new recipe as mine standard recipe is sweeter than this one and has more cholesterol with twice the eggs. This recipe is a winner. I made 1/4 of the recipe. The family loved it. It looked beautiful. The only little issue I had was when I went to melt the margarine in the microwave. I did not watch it closely enough and it went pop and splattered all over the microwave. Next time I will use a lower temp and be more careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This Challah turned out light and fluffy, just like I like my Challah. It did spread ALOT when rising but it did not affect the taste. I cut the recipe in half and I had 2 huge loaves. I used lots more sesame seeds than what was called for. Next time I will add a little more sugar. Loved the recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This truly was most amazing! It made wonder french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I confused I must be the only one with an issue... Dough was nice enough, braided well but when rose it was all over the place like a hot mess.... Braid didn't stay tight just looked like a big lumpy mess.. Did four loaves and all turned out the same... I'm no expert bread maker but have made bread for many years and this in appearance for me was just aweful, other recipes were fine so I'm trying to figure out what went wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Just made this recipe. It is excellent!!! Made challah many times and this is by far the easiest, quickest, and lightest and fluffiest challach ever!!! thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
very nice, but a little too sweet for me... next time I will use less sugar... I think that is just my personal taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ljiljana Bubalo
Home Town: Novi Sad, Vojvodina, Serbia
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Wow. Soft, slightly sweet, very versatile--could be served for literally any meal. And looks absolutely lovely, so it makes a great gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Great recipe! I used regular active dry yeast, but started by allowing a sponge to proof containing all the water, all the yeast, and about a third of the flour. Once that's going, it's easy adding the remaining ingredients. I agree that the last flour additions are best done in 1/2-cup increments. I'm not fond of "flavored" breads to eat, say, with scrambled eggs, so I omitted the vanilla with the egg wash. That's a personal quirk and doesn't reflect on the quality of this recipe, at all. As noted by others, the recipe halves easily. It also freezes well. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States