Moroccan Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Have made this twice now, once with squash, and once with two peeled and chopped yams. The first time, I accidentally added an extra can of chick peas, and it was so good, I doubled it again the next time! Also added a teaspoon each of cinnamon and cumin. Beautiful recipe both times, big hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeff Benham
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
If you know me at all, you know I love to cook. If you don’t know me, any of my friends will tell you that I’m pretty good at it. Last night was no exception, if I must say so myself. TagineIt’s called Tagine. A Tagine is a portable oven used in moroccan cooking. It’s also the name of a dish made from vegetables and meat. I cooked the meat separately this time, but I’m sure it would be terrific in the pot. It’s funny, I’m not really a big vegetable eater and some of the vegetables in this dish are not very appealing to me, but the combination of the vegetables and the spices makes this something special. You have to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Benham

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Despite the fact that I punched this up with a tablespoon of minced ginger root and about a teaspoon of lemon zest (sauted with the chicken, onions and garlic) and added 1 tsp of tumeric, 1 tsp of cumin and 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon with the spices, it still tasted rather bland. The chicken didn't pick up any of the flavors and the garbanzo beans seemed to add texture but no flavor. I think next time I'll put the chicken in a ziploc bag with the garlic, onion, ginger and lemon zest for a few hours before starting. I did like the butternut squash, though. It added just enough sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Very tasty. Per other reviews, I added half a green pepper, a handful of chopped apricots, and a few dashes of cinnamon, turmeric, and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I decided to make this dish without the chicken. I'm in love. It was so good. I cannot wait to make it again. I forwarded the recipe to a friend of mine, who wasn't too excited about it, but promised me she would try it. She fell in love too. THANK YOU FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I've made this a few times and think it's great! I've tried it both with the butternut squash, and with sweet potatoes (yams) when I had no squash -- either will work fine. Instead of ground coriander (I don't have any) I use fresh coriander -- cilantro. I chop about 1 1/2T and it gives it a pretty look and great flavor. Last time, I also added 1/2t cumin, as well as 1/4 cup raisins. It has a nice sweet/salty flavor -- would be great with fresh lemon wedges as a garnish, as well. To make it more filling, last time I cooked a couple cups of basmati rice and stirred it in at the last minute... not so soupy, but still a nice consistency, and it goes a bit farther.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This is an incredibly awesome meal!!! If there were more stars I'd rate it higher :) Very easy to do…it has a slightly sweet taste – from the squash I suppose. I added a dash of cinnamon as they were recommending it in the previous reviews. It’s soo good over couscous (I cooked couscou with chicken broth to add more flavour) My husband and children loved it!! I will definitely be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
This dish is hands down one of the best things I've ever tasted! I served with flatbread instead of couscous at a dinner party and ever one is still raving about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I used a can of mixed beans instead of garbanzo beans. I also added some cauliflower. Extra spices I used were: cumin, curry powder, tumeric, cinnamon. These, along with the other spices, I added with the onions in the very beginning, which gave the chicken more flavour. I also added a handful of chopped cilantro before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brianne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This recipe was awesome - I have never had better squash in my life. We used buttercup squash, we added a little cinnamon and cumin and did it without the chicken. One of the better Tagine recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States