Moroccan Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Did the veggie version with 1 cup of rehydrated garbanzos and prepared it in my Le Creuset Dutch oven. Not sure if the volume would support most skillets. I also added a green pepper and a seeded jalepeno. Served it with quinoa and blonde lentiles with craisins prepared in a rice cooker. The texture of the squash and the carrot provides a little surprise for the mouth. It is a great stew. Next time I might double the tomatoes, that is the only thing that may make it better. Super, flavorful meal, great on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This recipe was great! I altered it as well. I marinated the chicken for an hour in lemon juice (from a whole lemon), 2 minced garlic cloves, and minced ginger. After cooking the chicken I added more garlic and ginger to everything else. I included at least 1 Tbsp of coriander, cumin, and quite a few dashes of cayenne pepper. I also used onion salt instead of regular salt. It was really delicious. I can't wait to try it tomorrow--I know it will be even better after sitting overnight. I'm considering using honey next time instead of sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I had to make some modifications because of what I had on hand. Sweet pototoes instead of butternut squash, light red kidney beans and great northern beans as well as garbanzos because I had no chicken. I added generous shakes of cinnamon and cumin, as well as greshly-ground mixed peppercorns. I added raisins as well. I thought it was quite good, and it's a pretty adaptable recipe. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Just tried this recipe for the first time and loved it! So easy to make and the flavors are amazing!!! I"ll definitely be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This recipe came out beautifully and wonderfully! I made it in my creuset and first sauteed the onions with salt for 10 minutes and then added the chicken and the cut up garlic, I added in a tablespoon of paprika for color and then after adding in everything else added in an Israeli spice - Hawaijj which is a mixture of tumeric, cumin and nutmeg, I substituted honey for sugar about 3 tablespoons and I roasted the butternut squash seeds and put them back in at the end. I also used half a can of chickpeas, half a butternut squash and half a carrot. My husband loved this!!! It was a beautiful fall dish. I used the remaining carrot and butternut squash to make a bisque. Served this with a side of Israeli couscous - it was perfect. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
So good without chicken! Even my kids ate it. Easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This was my first attempt at making something like this the family loved it especially my picky eating son
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rodeomom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Point, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This recipe was absolutely delicious. I did make a few changes to the spices, but it was incredibly flavorful. As suggested by a previous reviewer, I marinated the chicken for a few hours ahead of time (I used lemon zest, lemon juice, fresh grated ginger, chopped garlic, salt, pepper and paprika). For the recipe itself, I used fresh tomato, fresh cilantro, a whole onion, chicken broth, and no chickpeas (I couldn't fit them in the tagine!). I also added some garam masala and extra cayenne pepper. The flavor of this dish was incredible. I cooked everything in my tagine for about an hour and a half. My only problem was that it was difficult to fit everything in the tagine! I used the extra sauce to cook some Israeli cous cous...DELISH! The butternut squash makes this dish. I think next time we will omit the chicken (but add the chickpeas).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I would give this more stars if I could. I look forward to fall just to make this with fresh butternut squash. I don't add chicken or the sugar. I also use fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Like other reviewers suggested, I usually add some cumin and raisins. I've also made this with sweet potatoes in addition to the squash. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States