Moroccan Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Good. Added 1tsp each cinnamon, coriander, red pepper flakes, cumin, moroccan spice mix, black pepper to onion/garlic saute. No chicken, but 2 cans chick peas and 1 sweet potato. Added dried chopped apricots, raisins to whole wheat couscous. Used 28 oz can tomatoes. Topped with lemon zest and pomegrante. No lemon added, just zest. Very very good with additions, very fragrant. Sweet, spicy mix was good, could be hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Extremely tasty, I will definitely be making this one again. I made this because I had a butternut squash to get rid of, and I was expecting something like a sweet variation of a curry, but this was not like a curry. The squash ends up having quite a different texture than beans or lentils, it holds together surprisingly well, making the dish quite hearty. It tastes a bit like pumpkin pie, of course, but the ingredients like garlic and chicken give it a more subtle, complex flavor. I used tomato soup instead of diced tomatoes (which I didn't have handy), and threw a few extra spices in: a teaspoon of cardamom, and a few sprinkles of cinnamon and tumeric. I'll probably use a parsnip instead of a carrot next time: it fits the flavor profile better, if not the color profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aerojockey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
YUMMMMMY!!! I took advice from several reviews & this what I came up with: 3x the coriander, 3x the garlic, 1/2 tsp of cinnamon & cumin. I only used 1/2 the chick peas, they really have no purpose in the over all flavor of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I made this recipe with a tagine. The instructions were incomplete (even for cooking in a skillet). The recipe came out bland, despite the fact that I actually added more spices than called for based on other reviews of the recipe. It was a good recipe to try for my first time using a tagine, but I won't be making it again, at least not without a lot of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Made this for a dinner party and the reviews were great! I did make a couple of changes. I added fresh cilantro and parsley about 10 mins before serving (I doubled the recipe, so used 1 bunch cilantro and about 1/2 bunch parsley). I also increased the amount of coriander by about 1/2. It turned out a little soupier than I anticipated (I've only ever made one other tagine it was thicker, so I'm comparing to that), so next time I will reduce the amount of broth. But as I said, I got rave reviews! So will definitely make it again! Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
pretty bland until I added cinnamon, ginger, fresh parsley, and some crushed red pepper. I also added chopped kale, which went very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I will make this again...and again...and again! Like most other reviewers, I added my own flair. I cooked the chicken, onion, and garlic with about 1 tsp of each: curry, turmeric, cinammon, and cumin. I also added a splash of lemon juice. I didn't have any garbanzo beans, so I used a can of great northern beans. I also didn't have any carrots, so that ingredient was left out. Once all ingredients were together in the pot, I added a dash of ground ginger. This was served over couscous and garnished with chopped cilantro. It looked beautiful and very appetizing; I wish I would have snapped a picture! This will be on my stovetop again soon, although I may tweak the recipe and its ingredients once more to make it extra wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
In absence of beans I added red lentils instead and only put a clove of garlic in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Did the veggie version with 1 cup of rehydrated garbanzos and prepared it in my Le Creuset Dutch oven. Not sure if the volume would support most skillets. I also added a green pepper and a seeded jalepeno. Served it with quinoa and blonde lentiles with craisins prepared in a rice cooker. The texture of the squash and the carrot provides a little surprise for the mouth. It is a great stew. Next time I might double the tomatoes, that is the only thing that may make it better. Super, flavorful meal, great on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This recipe was great! I altered it as well. I marinated the chicken for an hour in lemon juice (from a whole lemon), 2 minced garlic cloves, and minced ginger. After cooking the chicken I added more garlic and ginger to everything else. I included at least 1 Tbsp of coriander, cumin, and quite a few dashes of cayenne pepper. I also used onion salt instead of regular salt. It was really delicious. I can't wait to try it tomorrow--I know it will be even better after sitting overnight. I'm considering using honey next time instead of sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States