Moroccan Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
These spices look great, but for the love of Morocco, do NOT serve over rice. If you want to serve over something, use couscous and omit the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
i added 1TBS of Lemon juice half a cube of cubed chicken stock an extra tsp of cumin and a bay leaf. it tasted alot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAKEENAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Living In: Azaadville, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Tasty and easy way to serve lamb. I made a few substitutes to accommodate the ingredients I had on hand. I substituted sultana raisins for the golden, and MacIntosh apples for the pears. Rather than add the almonds to the dish I toasted sliced almonds and sprinkled them on top just before serving. I served the lamb over couscous rather than rice and used a side dish of a sweet potato casserole. This was a nice combination of flavors that complimented each other and was rich and flavorful. In addition I used my slow cooker rather than cooking it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This recipe for Lamb Tagine was simply wonderful! And it was so easy to make - I'll definitely be making this next time I host a dinner party. Also, I served this over couscous instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I thought this recipe was delicious! I love spice so i pretty much doubled the spices and left out the almonds as i didn't have any on hand. I also served mine over couscous instead of rice. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe. It reminded me of an actual "tagine" dish I had in Morocco. Based on other reviewers using broth instead of water, I threw in a cube of lamb buillon and I think it was a good choice. (I'm residing in England; I'm not sure you can get lamb buillon in the States.) I also let the pears sit in some lemon juice and cinnamon while the lamb was stewing, and I served it with couscous. My husband didn't like it as much as I did, and I'm guessing the combination of textures and the sweetness being rather unusual for the American palate is why this recipe has some lower ratings. But I thought the almonds, pears, and raisins with the sauce and couscous was the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnysue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SumerG
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I decided to try this recipe for a Moroccan themed holiday dinner this year. It turned out great! I did have to tweek it a little. I used chicken breast instead of lamb and I followed the advice of previous posts and doubled all of the spices. I also served it with couscous instead of rice. That is a much better option. Overall, it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SumerG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
This tagine was just ok. It wasn't my favorite, but my boyfriend did enjoy it. I thought the dish lacked flavor...and I even tried adding some extra flavor to it while it was cooking. Also for me, the dish took quite a bit longer to cook than what was instructed. Also, mine turned out too watery...and this was after I left the lid off for some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This recipe was perfect for the meal I planned for Valentine's Day. One thing I learned, though...DO NOT substitute with beef cubes! Very dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GR8NURS1271

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
Worked well with beef stew meat (can't afford lamb). For this American palate, a tiny bit bland. The addition of beef bullion and a little thickener kicks it up to 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Roasted Rack of Lamb

An amazing roast rack of lamb encrusted with mustard and seasoned bread crumbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States