Moroccan Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by eveline
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Didn't have pears so added apple to this recipe. Also added chicken broth to this dish as one of the commenters recommended it. I guess it came out really well because my husband finished every bit of the gravy. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JACKLISA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Fun to make, not worth the cost of the lamb. Next time, I'm using more kinds of fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKLISA
Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Loved it. Did not have cumin or pears. Used Gala apples and served mine with cous cous and my husband 's with rice. Had green beans as a side. It was a delicious meal and I would definitely do it again. Might try it with chicken thighs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omemee, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This is a good recipe but definitely needs more spices. Also, don't serve the tagine on rice but on couscous! (works well with chicken too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I was pretty happy with this recipe. I agree with everyone else and you should only use cous cous. Other than that I did not have corriander so I left it out and I added 4 big cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Excellent Tagine. I made this with home made merguez sausae and served over couscous. Otherwise followed recipe exactly. If you can find flavor in this dish.....check your taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dingo007

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ridgway, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SumerG
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I decided to try this recipe for a Moroccan themed holiday dinner this year. It turned out great! I did have to tweek it a little. I used chicken breast instead of lamb and I followed the advice of previous posts and doubled all of the spices. I also served it with couscous instead of rice. That is a much better option. Overall, it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SumerG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Tasty and easy way to serve lamb. I made a few substitutes to accommodate the ingredients I had on hand. I substituted sultana raisins for the golden, and MacIntosh apples for the pears. Rather than add the almonds to the dish I toasted sliced almonds and sprinkled them on top just before serving. I served the lamb over couscous rather than rice and used a side dish of a sweet potato casserole. This was a nice combination of flavors that complimented each other and was rich and flavorful. In addition I used my slow cooker rather than cooking it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe. It reminded me of an actual "tagine" dish I had in Morocco. Based on other reviewers using broth instead of water, I threw in a cube of lamb buillon and I think it was a good choice. (I'm residing in England; I'm not sure you can get lamb buillon in the States.) I also let the pears sit in some lemon juice and cinnamon while the lamb was stewing, and I served it with couscous. My husband didn't like it as much as I did, and I'm guessing the combination of textures and the sweetness being rather unusual for the American palate is why this recipe has some lower ratings. But I thought the almonds, pears, and raisins with the sauce and couscous was the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnysue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Roasted Rack of Lamb

An amazing roast rack of lamb encrusted with mustard and seasoned bread crumbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States