Moroccan-Style Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Wow, this was great! I didn't think I would like the raisins, but they were perfect. Smells much spicier than it is. I think the spice level is just right. Five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Great recipe! My MIL does not like celery, so I added some Granny Smith apple and a little red onion instead. I used low sodium broth and just a pinch of salt which ended up being much too little. This was so easy to make. The cous cous is just as great on its own as with the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This is a great and very easy recipe. One of the best that I have found for couscous. I cook the acorn or butternut squash in the microwave for about 8-9 minutes which is a real time saver. If you are saving calories use diet pancake syrup instead of brown sugar and melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenna F.
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was really yummy! However, the veggies didn't get soft enough before the garlic and such started burning and sticking to the pan. So we ate them a little bit crunchy. Oh well. :o) The squash was tender and perfecto!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna F.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This was pretty good, but a bit bland. My boyfriend hates raisins, and he wasn't won over to liking them in this recipe, either, though I thought the raisins were the best part. I used vegetable broth since it's what I had on hand, but I think chicken broth would've been better. I also added some chopped chicken breast. This made WAY more filling than needed for 4 halves of acorn squash, and I wasn't crazy about the filling by itself. It was missing something. If I were to make this again, I would tweak around the spices, probably add more cinnamon and/or ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Speechless! Made it for the in-laws the first time around and it was a hit! Thank you, thank you, thank you! Ran out of brown sugar, so I used honey instead...turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This is great! This is the only way we eat Acorn Squash now. It is a great last-minute meal with very little prep - good for when you have run out of meat. As other reviewers have said, it does make a lot of stuffing - but as the photos show, you can pile it up over the squash to make generous servings. Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Very yummy. The stuffing was excellent, but the recipe made way too much to fill only two acorn squash. I would either use four squash or cut the stuffing recipe in half next time. Other than that, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I made this the last night. I loved it. It was very flavorful and quite filling. The stuffing was great on it's own and has made plenty for leftovers. I am not a fan of raisins but took another posters advice and tried them. It was great. I also used honey instead of brown sugar on the squash. I will keep this recipe handy, it was very quick and simple. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Very tasty! I substituted quinoa for the couscous to add some nutritional value, and added a finely diced red bell pepper and small crook-necked squash since they needed to be used up. Dropped the cumin to 1 tsp. and added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, the result was the PERFECT blend of spices-not too strong, not too weak. Accidentally left out the garlic but was still very tasty. This made enough to fill 3 full acorn squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States