Moroccan-Style Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Great recipe! The combination of flavors really worked. I added some toasted slivered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Fantastic--I used leftover stirfry in this too as part of the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This was an excellent dish, I think a little heavy on the cumin (I only used 1 tbsp rather than 1.5), but all-in-all very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSeussFreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Awesome dish and great presentation. I'll definitely use it for a luncheon sometime soon. Especially for a vegetarian alternate - it was great. I did use suggestions: 1. scooped out the squash after baked and stirred with the couscous mixture to blend the flavors of the squash in better. 2. used freshly ground cumin. 3. used wheat couscous for a healthier alternative. 4. used small squash (apx 6 inches tall) so the 30 minute bake time was perfect . 5. added slivers of almonds on top. 5. I'll try other recommendations next time: - add a little (fresh) ground cinnamon - add a little dash of cayenne pepper - add a small onion (chopped) to the mixture. However, as the recipe is.. it's definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Amazing! I did end up freestyling and used celery, carrots, red pepper and zucchini. No beans and no brown sugar - I used dark maple syrup instead. I will be making this often! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Excellent dish! Used all veggies as recipe called for but added chopped zucchini as well. I don't really like raisins except for eating plain but they really made this dish! Next time, I'm adding MORE raisins than called for and adding crushed peanuts or cashews sprinkled on top for some crunch. Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I really liked this. I made some substitutions based on what I had in the house--an apple instead of celery and lentils in place of garbanzo beans. It still turned out great. I don't think I used as much cumin as it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This was my first time using acorn squash, and let's just say I'm in love with this vegetable because of this recipe!!! loved the spicy couscous along with the sweet squash. My husband is a picky eater, I kept avoiding the question when he asked what was for dinner...but when presented, it got an odd look, and won his vote after bite #1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This my family's new favorite way to eat Acorn squash. We use quinoa instead of couscous and craisins instead of raisins (nobody in my family likes raisins!) The first time I made it, I stuffed the squash as noted. Great presentation!! I think I'll use this for Thanksgiving. But my husband thought it was hard to get equal parts squash and stuffing, so the second time I cut the squash up into pieces, roasted it and then brushed it with the brown sugar before mixing it with the stuffing. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This dish was amazing. My fiance asked me to make it again in 2 days. I don't like celery, so I omitted it, I had forgotten to buy the beans, and instead of raisins I put in craisins. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States