Moroccan-Style Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
What a wonderful mix of tastes and textures! So nutritious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This recipe was a great way to find out I don't like cumin! I thought it overpowered the dish. I guess I don't like cumin as a main spice...I would maybe try this again with some different spices and only a touch of cumin. 1.5 tablespoons is just too much for me. The squash was delicious though, it came out very tender and juicy. I also loved the chickpeas in it. Just make sure you like cumin before making this dish! It's a lot of work for a big disappointment if you don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Great recipes. I subbed in quinoa for the cous cous (prepared in a separate pot with vegetable broth) and chard stalks for the celery (more healthy and tastes better). Next time will consider adding more carrots and some finely chopped nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Delicious, and I added ground sausage to the stuffing for a whole meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This was perhaps a bit bland but still pretty good. My acorn squash was a bit big - it took 45 minutes till tender. I also toasted the seeds from the squash during the last 10 minutes of cooking the squash. I put them on top of the couscous, which definitely need some more crunch. With that addition and perhaps some more spice, this would be a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Different but good. The raisins are surprisingly good in this too. I am the only one in my family who would eat it though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Better than expected! I substituted olive oil and salt & pepper in place of the butter and brown sugar for a healthier alternative and veggie stock for the chicken stock for the couscous. Plus, I swapped currants for the raisins as that's what I had on hand and it was delicious! Would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I rarely give 5 stars, but this recipe was perfect as written! The couscous had great flavor and was a wonderful filling for the squash. I had to cook my squash a little longer than 30 minutes to get it tender enough. I will definitely be making this again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was delicious, filling and a meal I'll definitely make again. Here's what I changed: I used the larger grained couscous, substituted vegetable broth, added cinnamon and a dash of ginger, honey instead of brown sugar and added dried cranberries along with the raisins. Can't wait to eat the remaining couscous for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly Except,based on other reviews I added some additional spices : Ginger, allspice, nutmeg and a pinch of cayenne. The dish was easy to prepare, not bad, but it was definiteley lacking in depth of flavor, and not at all Moroccan( other than the cous cous which needed more than 5 minutesw of soaking) and I don't know that I would bother doing it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States