Moroccan Spicy Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Wow, I think these were the best tasting carrots that I have ever had! Extremely flavorful and such interesting flavors at that. I thought maybe with the cayenne and paprika that these might be too spicy, but they came out perfect. And while it takes a little while for the carrots to cook, it is so easy because a lot of the time is just waiting, and you can do other things during that time. My whole family loved these carrots so I know I will be making them again sometime soon. Thanks for the recipe, Malak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I left out the cayenne, changed vinegar to twice the amount with lemon juice. Big problem with method which I changed completely. Spices like cumin and paprika need to be fried in the olive oil to develop full flavour. So I did that and added garlic in at the last and fried 30 seconds. Added oil mix to lemon juice and added cilantro. Put al dente carrots in warm from the pot, draining the water first. Salad needs to marinate a few hours at room temp to develop full flavour. Will add some onion to dressing next time, about 3T minced onion will go in with the garlic to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Scanland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Quite a winner with great balance of flavors and I love a new way to cook a healthy vegetable side dish that even my picky husband who doesn't like carrots but got 2nds of this and said it was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Lovely! That vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar) gives it such a cool kick. I couldn't stop eating these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I'm always looking for new ways to serve carrots and I'll happily add this to my rotation. I overdid the vinegar (bottle slipped) so they were a tad acidic, but still quite good. Thanks, Malak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I have made these about 10 times. The first time I made it, I tasted it and tasted it until it was gone! I have made them per the original recipe and with Carols suggested changes. I like the lemon juice and use it when I have it and have also used rice wine vinegar or cider vinegar. I use 1/4 tsp. cayenne and 1/2 tsp. salt. My friends have asked for the recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
These carrots are fabulous. I was cooking an African dinner & needed a vegetable to serve. I cut the recipe in half because I was a little skeptical as to whether or not they would get eaten. The bowl was cleaned out down to the last drop. Everyone loved them. I used red wine vinegar, it was over powering, I will omit the vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Delicious! I may have over estimated my "pinch" of cayenne as the carrots were a tad too spicy. But, my husband and father-in-law thought they were great! I doubled the recipe and as another reviewer mentioned, should not have double the liquid. Not a big deal though, just emptied out the extra water that was left in pan after carrot were done cooking. Will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Wolpert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Very tasty. the first time I made them I doubled everything but it was too much liquid so I stopped doubling the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Absolutely deliscious. Savers and yummy. We ate them hot with marinated chic and potatoes. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States