Moroccan Shabbat Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This is a great recipe but BEWARE of the chicken bullion if you're keeping kosher. Jewish dietary laws prohibit meat and fish in the same meal. That said, I've made this recipe sans bullion and added tomato paste, chickpeas and long green hot peppers since that was how we usually make it. I know recipe Nazis, it's no longer the same recipe. But if you're looking to replace the bullion, you need to add a little extra oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BSHEMYSHUA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I have not submitted a review for a recipe in a long time, but this was worthy of a great review! The spice combination was wonderful and this was so easy. Even my 11 year old daughter who is not a big fan of fish or spicy dishes liked this. I only wish my photography skills were up to par cause the deep rich brick red color that the paprika and red peppers gave this dish was beautiful. I did simmer this on the stove top in a cast iron skillet, so the fish was fall apart tender, but I like the idea that this can be slow baked in the oven for an easy, no sweat dinner on the Sabbath. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
The temperature of the owen should be about 200 degrees Celcius! In 95 degrees C the waterly solution or the oilish mixture dos not even boil, it needs with the ingrediments and the salt from the chicken bouilljon about 110-120 degr. C. So, if you use Fahrenheits, then double the temp.! You may keep the marvelous fish meal warm in ab. 95 degrees (Celcius) so that it doesn´t boil, but still you should add some water if the meal is not eaten at once - whitch is highly inporopable: the fish is great, even prepared of pangasius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
everyone loved it at home! Waited
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This was such a tasty dish. I made this last night. There were no leftovers and everyone went for seconds. I made a yogurt garlic sauce to compliment the spicy fish. I served with brown rice and creamed spinach. The sauce from the fish was so good over the rice. I will definitely make this again. I did follow someone else's comment and baked for 30 to 40 min on 400 degrees. 200 degrees for an hour just didn't sound right. The fish was tender and just melted in our mouths. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Yes, the temps for this is way too low. I baked it at 350 for 40 to 45 minutes. I have made this 2 times now and it's wonderful. I served it with Olive and Garlic flavored Couscous, Asparagus and warmed Pita bread. Tasty dinner for 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Dills

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Like someone else, I tried 200 degrees and ended up cooking at 350 for about 25 additional minutes. Aside from that, the dish was just ok. Not a lot of flavor, so the "fishiness" came out in the talapia, which we didn't even know was possible. The peppers and tomatoes were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This. Was. Awesome! Noting the other reviews, I combined the oil and spices in a 1 gallon ziploc, coated the filets in the mixture inside, and pan-seared them to seal in the flavor before baking. Put the seared filets atop the veggies, added the 1 c water to the ziploc to incorporate the remaining spices therein, poured that over thew hole dish and baked at 400 for about 30 minutes. Other minor substitutions were orange pepper for red, quartered grape tomatoes for large sliced, and cilantro for parsley. Served this with a medditerranean quinoa that had chopped shallots, toasted pine nuts and raisins, and lemon feta asparagus - everyone LOVED it. Paired nicely with a dry Prosecco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
GREAT RECIPE! but I set my oven to 300
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. I followed the directions and found this fish to be bland and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States