Moroccan Potato Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CKR
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I recently made this soup and two others for a Soup-Off! and it was the clear winner. The texture combined with the awesome flavour left the judges wanting more! I used only one tbsp of olive oil and eliminated the white pepper as I didn't have any on hand. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This soup makes a great base for vegetable soup-- just add an assortment of veggies. We added green beans, carrots, peas, and more potatoes and beans than indicated. We also used red bliss potatoes with skins on and added more than indicated. I think a red bell pepper would be great too. Also we used a homemade stock instead of water with the bouillon flakes. Another addition was some garlic to the onions. Also I did use more of the black and white peppers. We also used skim milk and low fat half and half. This soup can easily be made thicker with a bit more potato flake, "brothier" with more water, or creamier with more milk or half and half. Also, if you have access to a range of peppers, ancho or chipotle powders would make a nice substitute for the cayenne, or use a Hungarian paprika, which would add heat and a different flavor than cayenne as well. Some hummus and feta on the side or a green salad with a sparkling wine makes a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I've made this recipe twice, with slight additions/variations each time. Each time it was delicious! I didn't add curry because of my under 2 year old son, but did use the white pepper. Delicious! I also didn't use potato flakes, just real cubed potatoes, and I did add whole milk and romano cheese at the end. It was also lovely to look at with the dark kidney beans, the white cubed potato, and the green Kale, oh yes, I added Kale. YUMMY! I think I'll make this again tomorrow...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Great winter soup. Very fast and comforting. I use white kidney beans so soup is not this colour and more like a potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Very tasty and flavorful. I used White/Northern beans instead of white kidney beans and several red potatoes but I think it still turned out fantastic. I docked one star because I think it was less of a soup and more broth-like but was perfect over rice. However, to be fair, I also didn't have 1/2 and 1/2 which would have added a thicker texture (plus kidney beans would have been thicker as well). I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReignGoddess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Wow! This soup rocks! My husband and I ate it over brown rice in a bowl, which adds another yummy layer of flavor! It had the perfect amount of curry for our taste. I didn't have any half-and-half, and my milk had gone bad, so I improvised with 1 cup soy milk with 1 Tbs. butter (melted into the soup). I think that really helped keep the soup from being too spicy. IT WAS FANTASTIC! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
A fantastic recipe, and easily adjusted based on how much heat your family can handle. I'm vegetarian so I left the chicken bouillon out and used veggie stock rather than water. I didn't have white pepper so I just stuck with black pepper, but other than those two things I stuck with the recipe. This is an excellent recipe and very hearty, perfect for a cold, rainy day. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is my new favorite potato soup!! Use coconut milk to make it vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Hearty, tasty, and unique! Is it legitimately Moroccan?- I don't know, but the flavors are wonderful! I subbed white beans for kidney beans, only due to what I had on hand, and even my picky roommates ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
LOVE LOVE this soup! My husband liked it, but thought it was too spicy. I thought it was PERFECT. I couldn't get enough. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States