Moroccan Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
From the Recipe Creator: I just realized I forgot an ingredient! This recipe is great with a dash of nutmeg as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Phenomenal! love these potatoes. I went on a potatoe testing kick tonight and made 4 different types of mashed potatoes. This was by far the shocker!! Love it. It tastes wonderful. Not quite as fluffy as your traditional mashed potatoes, but the taste, Wow! And it wasn't overpowering like a couple other recipies we tried. Try em, you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I added 2 onions instead of one, and instead of 1/2 teaspoon of cumin, I did 1 and a 1/2 and oh boy - this was really worth 5 stars! So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Monsey, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
These were really tasty and something completely unique. They would go great with some grilled chicken or fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Loved it. Did end up adding some milk when I was mashing at the end. Did not want to keep adding oil to make them creamy. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Pretty good, a different take on mashed potatoes. Bf just said "they're different". He ate his full serving though, and agreed to have some with chicken for his leftover lunch tomorrow, so he liked them okay. He did ask me if these were seasoned with saffron, and I think they'd be good that way--but I LOVE saffron. Turmeric, which I like, but not as much, is a harsher flavor. Nice idea, and it works pretty well, so I'd try with different seasonings. I used red potatoes and didn't peel the skin--part laziness, part wanting the nutrition from it. I prefer mashed potatoes with the skin anyway. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I served these with the Moroccan Lamb with Shiraz Honey Sauce. BG HIT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnitGoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Very tasty dish. went very well with a Pork Tenderloin Wellington. Everyone liked it and asked for the ingredients. I added a bit more liquid to make them a bit softer, but otherwise wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This recipe is amazing and so easy! Goes with lots of things and healthier than regular mashed potatos. I added extra cumin for added flavor but recipe is very good as is - I made this with Moroccan Chicken and everyone raved about the potatos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Very nice. Served with Cara's Moroccan Stew and with Moroccan Krsa, both from this site. We cooked the potatoes in a slow cooker on low, but cooked the onions in a skillet, adding the seasonings as soon as the onions were cooked, then placing the onion mixture in the fridge until time to serve. After removing some of the water, we simply mashed the potatoes, added a touch of instant mashed potato flakes (since we had slightly over cooked the potatoes in the slow cooker, so they needed something to balance out the extra moisture content which arises from over boiling... *oops!*, but nice catch anyway - - that trick always works wonderfully with any mashed T's that become soggy)......, and when the potatoes were just about the right consistency, we mixed in the onion mixture. ****We did add extra oil**, which isn't ideal, but since we served it with Cara's Moroccan Stew, which had virtually no fat, and with the bread, which had virtually no fat, our meal was still significantly low fat, and by WW standards, was a meal which could be managed with low points, or higher points, depending on caloric need. (the growing teenage boys had more carbs than those watching their waist lines, and so forth....., everyone but my daughter enjoyed the potatoes, though my husband likes the horseradish and caramelized onion mash potatoes from this site more than he likes these.... I like both equally well....., hmmm, there was a good bit of cream in the horseradish potatoes I served him..?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States