Moroccan Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I had only the cannellini beans, and I had to reduce the spices slightly to accommodate a few picky eaters, but this is a wonderful soup! I didn't puree it, since I like the bits and pieces, and the red lentils become so soft. I used a little chicken broth instead of plain water in my first batch. This is a keeper! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Excellent soup! The flavors, although perhaps based on other reviews not authentically Moroccan, are delicious and this is a very forgiving soup. Wonderful served with a dollop of greek yogurt or sour cream and warm naan bread. I did find I added a touch more salt and heat (hot sauce/spices) at the table. This would be excellent with an addition of lamb or beef stew meat for those who wish for a bit more protein. But even my carnivore of a husband didn't complain - this was hearty enough to keep him full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Delicious soup! I followed the recipe, but after tasting I added 1/2 tsp salt and increased the garam masala, cardamom and garlic by half and doubled the ginger. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This is a fabulous soup! Made as stated with no changes. Freezes well. This is one of those soups that will become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This is one of my all time favorite recipes!!! The first few times I made this I prepared it per the recipe & then made only a few changes to suit our flavor, only after tasting it per the original recipe. 1) I use brown or green lentils instead of the red as the red lentils get mushy very easily. We like the crunch/firmness of the less mushy lentils. 2) I don't cook olive oil at high heat, only use it for salad dressing as it becomes toxic if cooked at high heats. I use coconut oil instead which is meant to be used for high heat/saute cooking. 3) We also don't care for garbanzo beans so I use a 15 OZ can of dark red kidney beans instead along with the 19 OZ can of Cannellini beans.(It appears dark red kidney beans were used in the first photo on line) 4) I don't puree half the soup, we really like the full texture of the whole lentils, veggies etc. The spices in this dish are PERFECT!! With just the right amount of heat etc....my husband LOVES his meat but he is happy eating this dish at least two times per week!!! Sometimes we have this dish with the Far East original rice pilaf and or some green beans....and sometime with eggs in the morning...This is a very fresh, healthy tasting dish. I make a big batch and freeze the left overs, so nice to have an easy, healthy dinner to warm up and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianna Warner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Very flavorful soup, though it tasted more Indian than Moroccan so I agree with some of the other reviewers. However it was very delicious and feeling. The only changes I made, was I added more spice via a couple of extra dashes of cayenne pepper and I added salt and pepper which brought the flavor out a little more for me. Excellent dish though, and yes the Cardamom is very expensive surprisingly it was only $5.99 at Whole Foods, but $13.99 at my local grocery store (Giant). Both same size bottles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was lovely - I saw other folks reviews and instead of Indian spices I added ras al hanout. I also left out celery. Will certainly make again but was very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
First thing I noticed was that this recipe was seriously lacking salt. After adding a healthy dose of kosher salt, we found that the flavor was good, but something was still lacking. For a wanna-be Moroccan or even Indian dish, this is a good base, but more definition is needed. The soup is a little thin (watery) on day one, but this improved by day two. I do not use canned beans and, as usual, hydrated my garbanzos and cannellinis before adding them to the pot. Perhaps next time I will hydrate them within the six cups of water that are called for in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Instead of water I added chicken stock. But, followed the Moroccan recipe and made the spice blend recommended. Delicious, filling and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Williamson Farrell
Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States