Moroccan Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I'm quite surprised this recipe is called "Moroccan" as the significant ingredients aren't used in Moroccan cooking (my hubster is Moroccan so I know Moroccan cooking). With that said - I altered the recipe as follows: I used brown (aka green) lentils as these are more traditional (and added a handful of red lentils for texture), 1 heaping tablespoon of ginger paste, 1 can of red kidney beans, 1 can northern white beans, 1 can diced tomatoes and 1 can stewed tomatoes. Do NOT use cardamom or garam masala (these are INDIAN spices not Moroccan). I strongly recommend salt/pepper to taste, cumin, and RAS EL HANOUT. Ras el hanout is a classic blend of Moroccan spices - similar to garam masala but different. Ras el hanout varies from one Moroccan to another but generally it's the following spices (usually whole spices all ground together but you can use the ground versions as well): >> I pressure cooked everything together for about 10 minutes and voila - delicious! Here's a helpful cooking tip: If cooking on the stove (or even the crockpot)- the lentils will cook faster if you do NOT add the salt or tomatoes until the end... salt and the acidity of the tomatoes prevents beans/lentils from softening which will prolong the cooking time. ***UPDATE*** Recipe with Indian spices is good too - make sure to double the spice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
842 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Upon sampling this soup, my morrocan husband stated, "something is in there that doesn't belong in there." When i rattled off the list of spices he said the Garam Marsala didn't belong, although he stated it was good. For an authentic morrocan taste, substitute "Rus Al Hanoot" for the Garam Marsala. GM is a blend of indian spices, while Rus Al Hanoot is a blend of morrocan spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
595 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This soup has an excellent Indian flavor. Some friends walked into the house just after I started to boil the soup and they commented on the wonderful aroma that filled the house! I used brown lentils instead of red, I used red kidney beans instead of cannellini (which is white kidney beans), and I diced my own carrots, tomatoes, and celery. Fresh is always better than canned! I also used bagged beans instead of canned because of the higher nutritional value bagged beans have, so I had to let the soup cook longer (I made it around 8 AM and it was ready by 9 PM. I didn't have any cardamom so I used 3/4 teaspoon of ground cinnamon and 3/4 teaspoon of ground cloves. Garam masala is a spice combo of cinnamon, cloves, and black pepper, so you don't really need more garam masala... A great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This is good, and so easy. I did it in the crockpot, and didn't sautee anything beforehand, just threw it all in (no oil). Sadly, I forgot to buy fresh ginger so I just used dried. I had brown lentils, so I used those instead, but am interested in trying the red. I used 4 cups (a carton) of veggie broth and 2 cups water. Cooked in my crockpot for about 12 hours on low, and it was perfect. Thick and yummy. I added an extra 1/2 tsp. of garam masala because I love it. I only used a sprinkle of cayenne. Served with warm mini wheat pitas from Trader Joe's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Excellent soup - very aromatic and flavorful. However, a bottle of ground cardamom cost nearly $13 Since it was the first time using this spice, I was reluctant to spend that much. Was able to purchase only the amount I needed from the bulk section of a health food store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
i love lentil soup, it always makes me feel so healthy eating it. and this one did not disappoint. i made a couple of alterations as others did i used chicken broth instead of plain water. i did increase the garam masala and garlic. i stretched the soup by using one cup of red lentils and one cup of brown. increased the broth by a few cups and added 10 oz. box of frozen spinach in the last 15 minutes. i also sauteed some hot italian sausage for my husband, so he thinks he's getting a full meal. but i didn't add that to the soup, just put his bowl of soup. this is different from my usual lentil or curried lentil and i would recommend it to everyone. thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
This was an excellent soup! I used whole cardamom seeds instead of the ground cardamom, which resulted in a very strong flavor and aroma. Perfect for those who love African and Indian spices. I will definitely make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
I really should have liked this more than I did. The combination of garam masala and cardamon were just overwhelming to me. I had made a big batch & ended up giving it to friends who loved it. I would recommend using half the spice levels, then increasing if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This is good with a few additions/subtractions. I used turkey broth I had in the fridge instead of water. I also didn't add the garam marsala, as this is not a traditional North African spice, more of an Indian spice. I added traditional Tunisian chili powder (Harissa) and did not bother to puree, as the red lentils basically helped thicken it, and I like a 'meatier' soup. This is a nice soup during the winter, and a new soup for me to make for my husband during the Ramadan season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Pretty good...nice & spicy. It made a good meal with some rice. I cooked it in a slow cooker which made it a lot easier...I didn't have to worry about stirring it on the stovetop. Also, I used chicken broth and water instead of just water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States