Moroccan Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
With some seasoning changes I loved this soup! But it turned out fairly different from the recipe so I feel my evaluation isn't really fair. I made it into an Indian soup and added some curry and actually used black beans since that is what I had on hand. Good inspiration though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I thought this soup was excellent although I agree, it has an Indian taste but I love Indian so that was a bonus. Also, I had to double the spices as recommended by another user and it was perfect. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I didn't like this soup, I Loved it. It was delicious nutritious and easy to make. I'd definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen.of.Tarts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mariposa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Made this soup for the first time over the weekend. At first I was hesitant about a soup recipe which simply called for water rather than a stock base so I substituted 2 cups of water with vegetable broth. It was fabulous! Great Recipe. The spices had a winter/holiday flavor so I'll make it for the holidays this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petersburg, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This makes a great "cooling" side when served with other spicier dishes. I made this alongside a very spicy curry and it worked beautifully at mitigating the lingering spice. Only thing I changed for this recipe was that I added a tbsp of liquid concentrated chicken bouillon while this was cooking. It really added a lot to the depth of flavor for this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoffeeAddict
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Pretty good. I subbed ras el hanout in place of the garam masala. Something was still missing. I think next time I will use chicken broth instead of water and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I threw all ingredients into a crock pot: 1 c brown lentils, 1 chopped onion, 1/2 c chopped carrot, 2 chopped potatoes, 1 can white beans, 14 oz crushed tomatoes, 1 quart chicken stock, 1 cup water, 2 t minced garlic, 1/2 t gr ginger, 2 t. garam masala, 1/2 t cayenne, 1/2 t cumin. Set to low and cooked 12 hrs. House smells like heaven. Didn't add cardomom because I didn't have any, but I sure will next time. Thank you Grace and Mae for expanding my Meatless Monday menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaNJ
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Really savory and delicious. Had it with some Middle Eastern Flatbread from Trader Joe's. Whole family loved it and we're not even vegetarian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I took Serena's advice and added RAS EL HANOUT in order to make it more Moroccan, which was great especially since I've never cooked with that spice! However, I also added the other spices, but honestly it needed more spicyness. The flavors were good, but not spicy enough for me. I also added both green and red lentils and I used low sodium veggie broth and I added 2 bay leaves. A couple a changes I would make next time is I would add another can of tomatoes and I would get crushed not diced. Overall, it was an easy soup and I would try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sf twin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Nice and spicy lentil soup here loaded with vegetables! Moroccan or not Moroccan - who cares. It tastes great! I did use chicken broth instead of water as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States