Moroccan Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Easy recipe that comes out with killer flavor everytime. The only "fussy" part is the blending, but let me tell you, it is worth it. I substitute veggie stock or chicken broth for the 6 cups of water. More flavor that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
A little on the bland side. I used dried white kidney beans and chickpeas (I soaked them over night and cooked them for 20 minutes). I added vegetable broth and sea salt to give it more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
An okay recipe turned into a great one by using vegetable broth instead of water and adding hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I've made this twice now, and it never fails to cure my craving for lentils. The first time I made it, I didn't puree any of it, and this time, I pureed nearly all of it. Really, it tastes the same either way. Aside from pointing out that this isn't truly a Moroccan dish, as others have pointed out, (I don't think it's rude, I think it's more of using correct terminology) it's pretty good. It is bland in it's entrance, but a little sea salt right before serving helps a little with that, and also brings out some of the other flavors. I also only used 1/4 of the cayenne, since the heat overtook a lot of the other flavors. Next time I will use chicken broth instead of water. Maybe that will make it a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariMercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Manama, Capital, Bahrain
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I will give this a try again adding broth instead of stock, it had a very watered down taste to me. I will also omit the garam masala, a spice that I love in Indian food but it didn't seem to work for me in this soup. I also added some tomato paste to try and give some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I made this for supper, couldnt wait to try it so had it for lunch also,.I made it pretty much as stated except I used white kidney beans as that is what I had in my panty, was spicy and flavorful. definately gone to my saved recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Gillespie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This recipe is awesome. The whole family liked it (including 2 young boys). I didn't use any spices besides the garam masala and added a little bit of butter to each bowl and it was AMAZING. Better than so many Indian restaurant curries. And so healthy! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrookeCakeBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Very versatile because I used green lentils instead of red and left out some of the spices and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Needs acid - lemon juice or more tomato, needs salt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Neale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States