Moroccan Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This soup is great, but you definately have to use broth. This soup is lacking in flavor otherwise. Used a little more garam masala and added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Bland. I feel like something is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Easy recipe that comes out with killer flavor everytime. The only "fussy" part is the blending, but let me tell you, it is worth it. I substitute veggie stock or chicken broth for the 6 cups of water. More flavor that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
A little on the bland side. I used dried white kidney beans and chickpeas (I soaked them over night and cooked them for 20 minutes). I added vegetable broth and sea salt to give it more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
An okay recipe turned into a great one by using vegetable broth instead of water and adding hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I've made this twice now, and it never fails to cure my craving for lentils. The first time I made it, I didn't puree any of it, and this time, I pureed nearly all of it. Really, it tastes the same either way. Aside from pointing out that this isn't truly a Moroccan dish, as others have pointed out, (I don't think it's rude, I think it's more of using correct terminology) it's pretty good. It is bland in it's entrance, but a little sea salt right before serving helps a little with that, and also brings out some of the other flavors. I also only used 1/4 of the cayenne, since the heat overtook a lot of the other flavors. Next time I will use chicken broth instead of water. Maybe that will make it a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariMercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Manama, Capital, Bahrain
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I will give this a try again adding broth instead of stock, it had a very watered down taste to me. I will also omit the garam masala, a spice that I love in Indian food but it didn't seem to work for me in this soup. I also added some tomato paste to try and give some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I made this for supper, couldnt wait to try it so had it for lunch also,.I made it pretty much as stated except I used white kidney beans as that is what I had in my panty, was spicy and flavorful. definately gone to my saved recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Gillespie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This recipe is awesome. The whole family liked it (including 2 young boys). I didn't use any spices besides the garam masala and added a little bit of butter to each bowl and it was AMAZING. Better than so many Indian restaurant curries. And so healthy! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States