Moroccan Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
OMG. I had curry lentil soup while out to dinner. I had to have more. I looked up this recipe and it came out way better than the resteraunt. I made a few alterations. I always keep small bags of mixed cooked beans in my freezer. I used a cup of them instead of the cannellini beans. I added more carrots and used about 2.5 Tablespoons of Spice Island Curry in place of the Indian spices. I added a pinch of ginger and clove. about 1 tsp chili power and 2 tsps cayenne. When it was cooked, I put it all in my VitaMix and blended it gently. Smooth but chuncky. Next time I'm going to use coconut oil in place of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Love the flavor and ease of this lentil soup! I'm a lentil fan and a fan of spice! This was a match made in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AwesomeTara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirsdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This soup is soooo yummy! I did't have chickpeas so I just added extra lentils. I LOVE tomatoes so i added extra. I also added potato and it made for a hearty meal. My family loved it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This is a favorite soup recipe of mine. I make a few changes: 1) I use a lot more fresh minced garlic, 6+ cloves. 2) During the last 10 minutes of cooking, I add 4 - 6 c. fresh baby spinach leaves, chopped. 3) During the last few minutes of cooking I add the juice of 1 freshly squeezed lemon. It is delicious served with crusty bread and grated Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This soup is just delicious. It really fills you up. I also through in a little swiss chard for a change as I have made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I added a chopped sweet potato to mine and some lemon juice (2 lemons) and extra ground ginger for cardamom. We shall see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mobile Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Really good! I took other's advice and used broth in place of water and added potatoes. For us it was too spicy but I buy my spices fresh from the bulk bins so next time I will need to cut back on the cayenne. I also did not puree but that is definitely just a personal prference. This is a hit and I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This soup is great, but you definately have to use broth. This soup is lacking in flavor otherwise. Used a little more garam masala and added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Bland. I feel like something is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Easy recipe that comes out with killer flavor everytime. The only "fussy" part is the blending, but let me tell you, it is worth it. I substitute veggie stock or chicken broth for the 6 cups of water. More flavor that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States