Moroccan Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
With ONE ADDITION this is an EXCELLENT hardy vegan soup! The problem is that there is no salt in the ingredients, so it ends up tasting bland. Even though I heeded some advice and doubled up the seasonings it was still not enough. It really needs some salt, so I added in 2 vegetable bouillon cubes (instructions said 1 cube per 3 cups of water) and PRESTO!! Delicious soup.... mmmmmm. P.S. Obviously it ends up tasting more Indian than Moroccan but that doesn't take away from the great taste of the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Utterly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
A very flavorful soup, even omitting the garam masala and cardamom, as others suggested. I threw in a meaty hambone and used the whole bag of lentils, upping the water to 12 c. Count on adding water to reheat it as it is that thick. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I was really exited about the recipe and it smelled wonderful while cooking, but sadly it is rather bland. It is spicy but lacks depth, very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trier, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Wow...delish! Especially day 2 . My husband is a bit picky, but even he went for seconds. Made a second batch and froze it for lunches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This recipe is great as is... However, I cooked the lentils beforehand with garlic mad coconut milk and it was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Good recipe although my batch came out rather bland. I didn't use the cardamom or diced tomatoes but tomato paste and added chili and garlic powder. I would try using stock next time I make this for more flavor. It went absolutely well with rice and had a great texture. Needs more salt and spice for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I love this recipe. I add jalapenos with their liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I only used the garam masala and cayenne pepper. I didn't add the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Just was not to our liking. The only thing I did different was to double the recipe to use the whole lbs of lentils. Realistically the recipe in itself was ok, the flavor was good. I have come to the conclusion that we are just not lentil fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States