Moroccan Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This is a fabulous soup! Made as stated with no changes. Freezes well. This is one of those soups that will become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This is one of my all time favorite recipes!!! The first few times I made this I prepared it per the recipe & then made only a few changes to suit our flavor, only after tasting it per the original recipe. 1) I use brown or green lentils instead of the red as the red lentils get mushy very easily. We like the crunch/firmness of the less mushy lentils. 2) I don't cook olive oil at high heat, only use it for salad dressing as it becomes toxic if cooked at high heats. I use coconut oil instead which is meant to be used for high heat/saute cooking. 3) We also don't care for garbanzo beans so I use a 15 OZ can of dark red kidney beans instead along with the 19 OZ can of Cannellini beans.(It appears dark red kidney beans were used in the first photo on line) 4) I don't puree half the soup, we really like the full texture of the whole lentils, veggies etc. The spices in this dish are PERFECT!! With just the right amount of heat etc....my husband LOVES his meat but he is happy eating this dish at least two times per week!!! Sometimes we have this dish with the Far East original rice pilaf and or some green beans....and sometime with eggs in the morning...This is a very fresh, healthy tasting dish. I make a big batch and freeze the left overs, so nice to have an easy, healthy dinner to warm up and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianna Warner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Very flavorful soup, though it tasted more Indian than Moroccan so I agree with some of the other reviewers. However it was very delicious and feeling. The only changes I made, was I added more spice via a couple of extra dashes of cayenne pepper and I added salt and pepper which brought the flavor out a little more for me. Excellent dish though, and yes the Cardamom is very expensive surprisingly it was only $5.99 at Whole Foods, but $13.99 at my local grocery store (Giant). Both same size bottles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was lovely - I saw other folks reviews and instead of Indian spices I added ras al hanout. I also left out celery. Will certainly make again but was very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
First thing I noticed was that this recipe was seriously lacking salt. After adding a healthy dose of kosher salt, we found that the flavor was good, but something was still lacking. For a wanna-be Moroccan or even Indian dish, this is a good base, but more definition is needed. The soup is a little thin (watery) on day one, but this improved by day two. I do not use canned beans and, as usual, hydrated my garbanzos and cannellinis before adding them to the pot. Perhaps next time I will hydrate them within the six cups of water that are called for in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Instead of water I added chicken stock. But, followed the Moroccan recipe and made the spice blend recommended. Delicious, filling and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Williamson Farrell
Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
With ONE ADDITION this is an EXCELLENT hardy vegan soup! The problem is that there is no salt in the ingredients, so it ends up tasting bland. Even though I heeded some advice and doubled up the seasonings it was still not enough. It really needs some salt, so I added in 2 vegetable bouillon cubes (instructions said 1 cube per 3 cups of water) and PRESTO!! Delicious soup.... mmmmmm. P.S. Obviously it ends up tasting more Indian than Moroccan but that doesn't take away from the great taste of the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Utterly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
A very flavorful soup, even omitting the garam masala and cardamom, as others suggested. I threw in a meaty hambone and used the whole bag of lentils, upping the water to 12 c. Count on adding water to reheat it as it is that thick. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I was really exited about the recipe and it smelled wonderful while cooking, but sadly it is rather bland. It is spicy but lacks depth, very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trier, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States