Moroccan Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
We really enjoyed it! It's hearty, full of flavor and has just the right spices to make this aromatic soup a delight morning, noon or night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
I don't know about kids loving it, but I and my partner sure did! This definately had Moroccan flavors. It reminded me of a favorite lentil soup I get at my favorite Moroccan restaurant, slightly different, but very close. I did need to add a bit of salt though, it was slightly bland w/ out it, I added about a teaspoon or so. It was nice and thick and smelled incredible. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This recipe was EXCELLENT! I have many international friends who cook great food but don't measure and or aren't sure of spice names in English - this recipe solves that! My husband loves it and so do I! I did add salt per another reviewers suggestion (good idea) and ground ginger (not fresh) worked fine also. Could not find cannellini beans (was in a rush at the store) so I used canned navy beans - tasted great! Also, preferred a smooth texture so pureed the whole batch. THANK YOU Grace & Mae! Will make again and again - very tasty with fresh bread or pita and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
Wow! This was great! My first time using cardamom and garam masala. It reminded me of some of the dishes at my favorite indian restaurant. I will definitely make this again. The house smelled wonderful. I blended about 3/4 of the soup. I think that next time I will try over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
This is a very flavorful and filling soup! I served this with homemade bread bowls (probably not very Moroccan, but very tasty) and my family went crazy for it. I loved the spices and flavor and have made it 2 times so far this month...its that good! If you like flavor and aroma of cardamom, then I recommend trying this soup. Thanks for the recipe Grace and Mae!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
I really should have liked this more than I did. The combination of garam masala and cardamon were just overwhelming to me. I had made a big batch & ended up giving it to friends who loved it. I would recommend using half the spice levels, then increasing if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
This was an excellent soup! I used whole cardamom seeds instead of the ground cardamom, which resulted in a very strong flavor and aroma. Perfect for those who love African and Indian spices. I will definitely make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
I found it too heavy on the beans & not that great on taste. I may be alone but I find putting Cardamon in a recipe is like putting in a few drops of perfume - it doesn't make my taste buds water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
This soup is the BEST! We love it. Rich, spicy, tasty and hearty. I make it often in large batches and freeze it in pre-portioned zip locked bags, but it really is simple enough to whip up if its just about dinner time and you've not given dinner any thought. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
I love Moroccan food and this definitely reminded me of the lentil soup I have had in restaurants. I did not have any beans but I added white sweet potato and it came out great. The only problem I had was using 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper. I thought that was a too much. I only used 1/8 tsp of cayenne and that was enough to give a bite to the back of my throat and bring tears to my eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States