Moroccan Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I threw all ingredients into a crock pot: 1 c brown lentils, 1 chopped onion, 1/2 c chopped carrot, 2 chopped potatoes, 1 can white beans, 14 oz crushed tomatoes, 1 quart chicken stock, 1 cup water, 2 t minced garlic, 1/2 t gr ginger, 2 t. garam masala, 1/2 t cayenne, 1/2 t cumin. Set to low and cooked 12 hrs. House smells like heaven. Didn't add cardomom because I didn't have any, but I sure will next time. Thank you Grace and Mae for expanding my Meatless Monday menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaNJ
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Really savory and delicious. Had it with some Middle Eastern Flatbread from Trader Joe's. Whole family loved it and we're not even vegetarian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I took Serena's advice and added RAS EL HANOUT in order to make it more Moroccan, which was great especially since I've never cooked with that spice! However, I also added the other spices, but honestly it needed more spicyness. The flavors were good, but not spicy enough for me. I also added both green and red lentils and I used low sodium veggie broth and I added 2 bay leaves. A couple a changes I would make next time is I would add another can of tomatoes and I would get crushed not diced. Overall, it was an easy soup and I would try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sf twin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Nice and spicy lentil soup here loaded with vegetables! Moroccan or not Moroccan - who cares. It tastes great! I did use chicken broth instead of water as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Great. My husband wants to have grid again. Also 4 kids I served it to ate it up. I left out the tomatoes bc I didn't have any. I subbed the recommended moroccan seasoning blend rather than garam masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
The spices were overwhelming, yet tasteless because the recipe lacked acidity. We added vinegar which helped a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This did NOT work for us, maybe we got the spice combination wrong. Definitely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was very good, but needed a touch of salt added to it. After I did that, it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
this was nice and easy. its still basically a bean/lentil soup, but the flavor was a nice change for me. i served it with pomegranite/spinach salad with balsamic viniagrette (both from this site), and i think it would be nice served with cornbread also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Easy, hearty, freezes well and delicious! I added some spinach and will try adding fresh mint next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States