Moroccan Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
An okay recipe turned into a great one by using vegetable broth instead of water and adding hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I've made this twice now, and it never fails to cure my craving for lentils. The first time I made it, I didn't puree any of it, and this time, I pureed nearly all of it. Really, it tastes the same either way. Aside from pointing out that this isn't truly a Moroccan dish, as others have pointed out, (I don't think it's rude, I think it's more of using correct terminology) it's pretty good. It is bland in it's entrance, but a little sea salt right before serving helps a little with that, and also brings out some of the other flavors. I also only used 1/4 of the cayenne, since the heat overtook a lot of the other flavors. Next time I will use chicken broth instead of water. Maybe that will make it a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariMercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Manama, Capital, Bahrain
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I will give this a try again adding broth instead of stock, it had a very watered down taste to me. I will also omit the garam masala, a spice that I love in Indian food but it didn't seem to work for me in this soup. I also added some tomato paste to try and give some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I made this for supper, couldnt wait to try it so had it for lunch also,.I made it pretty much as stated except I used white kidney beans as that is what I had in my panty, was spicy and flavorful. definately gone to my saved recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Gillespie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This recipe is awesome. The whole family liked it (including 2 young boys). I didn't use any spices besides the garam masala and added a little bit of butter to each bowl and it was AMAZING. Better than so many Indian restaurant curries. And so healthy! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrookeCakeBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Very versatile because I used green lentils instead of red and left out some of the spices and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Needs acid - lemon juice or more tomato, needs salt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Liked most ingredients, but as some other reviews commented, the Garam Masala does not belong so subtituted Moroccoan spices. Of course the face that my husband doesn t like this spice had soe bearing on my changes. For some reason or another I feel that lentil type soups should have North African spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
i woke up sick today and made this soup. i feel so much better, it is so hearty, spicy, healthy, and delicious! i doubled spices, subbed half the water for veg stock, and didn't need to puree. will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States