Moroccan Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Needs acid - lemon juice or more tomato, needs salt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Liked most ingredients, but as some other reviews commented, the Garam Masala does not belong so subtituted Moroccoan spices. Of course the face that my husband doesn t like this spice had soe bearing on my changes. For some reason or another I feel that lentil type soups should have North African spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
i woke up sick today and made this soup. i feel so much better, it is so hearty, spicy, healthy, and delicious! i doubled spices, subbed half the water for veg stock, and didn't need to puree. will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seal Cove, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This soup was excellent. I doubled the recipe adding half chicken broth and half water. I also added 3 Tbls of tomato paste and more veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
With some seasoning changes I loved this soup! But it turned out fairly different from the recipe so I feel my evaluation isn't really fair. I made it into an Indian soup and added some curry and actually used black beans since that is what I had on hand. Good inspiration though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I thought this soup was excellent although I agree, it has an Indian taste but I love Indian so that was a bonus. Also, I had to double the spices as recommended by another user and it was perfect. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I didn't like this soup, I Loved it. It was delicious nutritious and easy to make. I'd definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen.of.Tarts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mariposa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Made this soup for the first time over the weekend. At first I was hesitant about a soup recipe which simply called for water rather than a stock base so I substituted 2 cups of water with vegetable broth. It was fabulous! Great Recipe. The spices had a winter/holiday flavor so I'll make it for the holidays this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petersburg, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This makes a great "cooling" side when served with other spicier dishes. I made this alongside a very spicy curry and it worked beautifully at mitigating the lingering spice. Only thing I changed for this recipe was that I added a tbsp of liquid concentrated chicken bouillon while this was cooking. It really added a lot to the depth of flavor for this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoffeeAddict
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Pretty good. I subbed ras el hanout in place of the garam masala. Something was still missing. I think next time I will use chicken broth instead of water and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States