Moroccan Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This is a great recipe as is. The second time I made it, I put in a bit more cayenne pepper to give it more zing and I threw in a chicken breast and let it boil along with the soup for an hour. I removed the chicken breast, shredded it and tossed it back in. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panama Papp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Very good recipe. Even though the spices are Indian, they can easily be tweaked. I made a similar recipe in which I also use the Indian spices (so good!) but modified the overall recipe & simplified it into a crock pot meal. So easy, healthy, & convenient! My recipe can be found on my blog: http://scienceandseitan.wordpress.com/2012/08/27/crock-pot-moroccan-lentil-soup/#
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
OMG. I had curry lentil soup while out to dinner. I had to have more. I looked up this recipe and it came out way better than the resteraunt. I made a few alterations. I always keep small bags of mixed cooked beans in my freezer. I used a cup of them instead of the cannellini beans. I added more carrots and used about 2.5 Tablespoons of Spice Island Curry in place of the Indian spices. I added a pinch of ginger and clove. about 1 tsp chili power and 2 tsps cayenne. When it was cooked, I put it all in my VitaMix and blended it gently. Smooth but chuncky. Next time I'm going to use coconut oil in place of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Love the flavor and ease of this lentil soup! I'm a lentil fan and a fan of spice! This was a match made in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AwesomeTara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirsdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This soup is soooo yummy! I did't have chickpeas so I just added extra lentils. I LOVE tomatoes so i added extra. I also added potato and it made for a hearty meal. My family loved it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This is a favorite soup recipe of mine. I make a few changes: 1) I use a lot more fresh minced garlic, 6+ cloves. 2) During the last 10 minutes of cooking, I add 4 - 6 c. fresh baby spinach leaves, chopped. 3) During the last few minutes of cooking I add the juice of 1 freshly squeezed lemon. It is delicious served with crusty bread and grated Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This soup is just delicious. It really fills you up. I also through in a little swiss chard for a change as I have made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I added a chopped sweet potato to mine and some lemon juice (2 lemons) and extra ground ginger for cardamom. We shall see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mobile Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Really good! I took other's advice and used broth in place of water and added potatoes. For us it was too spicy but I buy my spices fresh from the bulk bins so next time I will need to cut back on the cayenne. I also did not puree but that is definitely just a personal prference. This is a hit and I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This soup is great, but you definately have to use broth. This soup is lacking in flavor otherwise. Used a little more garam masala and added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States