Moroccan Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
****Excellent! I really liked the consistency with only half of it pureed in blender and then mixed with the other non-pureed half. I also used brown lentils and just added a handful of red ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This is such a wonderful recipe. I loved it made just as it is, however it has a lot of potential as a start for some very delicious meals. I can't wait to try it as a base for lamb stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Great recipe. I made a few changes. I added some Moroccon spices I had bought in Morocco with the cumin, cinnamon, saffron. 1/2 green lentils with red lentils and ceci beans. As you can see...there's no way to ruin this recipe! My kids loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granger, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gubbio, Umbria, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This was really delicious. The first soup I've made with a real Indian/Moroccan flavor. I don't know why people feel compelled to change the spices so much - if you use fresh ones, it's plenty spicy. I did double the ginger though since it's so much soup and I love ginger. I also felt like I wanted to add salt, but instead of doing that I added a TBS of lemon juice - that gave it a bit more depth with no sodium. Anyway, I really love this recipe. You will too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I didn't have some of the ingredients so I just used this recipe as a base.. I didn't have carrots or celery, but I did have a couple of cups of left over tortilla soup (with no tortillas in it!) and added that to it which had a few more beans and some corn, and it turned our really well. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was a really great soup, more like a stew in terms of thickness. I was a little worried at first because the smell of the cardamom was pretty strong, but it all cooked down into spicy lusciousness. The only changes I made were: 1 tsp of cardamom instead of 1.5 t., 4 cloves of garlic instead of 2, subbed 2 cups of chicken broth, and added 1 t. of smoked paprika (just because I love the spiciness that paprika imparts). It was good, thick, spicy, and filling. It made lots to have as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
the cardamom is weird. I inverted the amounts for garam masala and cardamom, and it was still too much, that may just be personal preference though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I made this in the slow cooker and had to make a few subs based on preference and what I had on hand - beef broth instead of water, pinto beans instead of cannellini, green & red bell peppers instead of carrots & celery (the beans & peppers may sound weird, but it tasted great!). I doubled the spices except the cardamom and cayenne. I sauted the veggies and added everything to the slow cooker except the tomatoes and set to low for about 6 hours. I added the tomatoes and set to high for 1 hour, half with the top on, half with top off. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Excellent! Meaty spicy taste. Like others added 1 tsp salt. Definitely would make again. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Delicious! The only thing that I would recommend adding is a little bit of seasoning salt. That made it a little more flavourful, in my opinion. This is from someone who generally finds many foods really salty. Otherwise you can leave it as is and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runnerchick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States