Moroccan Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Very flavorful soup, though it tasted more Indian than Moroccan so I agree with some of the other reviewers. However it was very delicious and feeling. The only changes I made, was I added more spice via a couple of extra dashes of cayenne pepper and I added salt and pepper which brought the flavor out a little more for me. Excellent dish though, and yes the Cardamom is very expensive surprisingly it was only $5.99 at Whole Foods, but $13.99 at my local grocery store (Giant). Both same size bottles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was lovely - I saw other folks reviews and instead of Indian spices I added ras al hanout. I also left out celery. Will certainly make again but was very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
First thing I noticed was that this recipe was seriously lacking salt. After adding a healthy dose of kosher salt, we found that the flavor was good, but something was still lacking. For a wanna-be Moroccan or even Indian dish, this is a good base, but more definition is needed. The soup is a little thin (watery) on day one, but this improved by day two. I do not use canned beans and, as usual, hydrated my garbanzos and cannellinis before adding them to the pot. Perhaps next time I will hydrate them within the six cups of water that are called for in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Instead of water I added chicken stock. But, followed the Moroccan recipe and made the spice blend recommended. Delicious, filling and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Williamson Farrell
Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
With ONE ADDITION this is an EXCELLENT hardy vegan soup! The problem is that there is no salt in the ingredients, so it ends up tasting bland. Even though I heeded some advice and doubled up the seasonings it was still not enough. It really needs some salt, so I added in 2 vegetable bouillon cubes (instructions said 1 cube per 3 cups of water) and PRESTO!! Delicious soup.... mmmmmm. P.S. Obviously it ends up tasting more Indian than Moroccan but that doesn't take away from the great taste of the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Utterly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
A very flavorful soup, even omitting the garam masala and cardamom, as others suggested. I threw in a meaty hambone and used the whole bag of lentils, upping the water to 12 c. Count on adding water to reheat it as it is that thick. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I was really exited about the recipe and it smelled wonderful while cooking, but sadly it is rather bland. It is spicy but lacks depth, very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trier, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Wow...delish! Especially day 2 . My husband is a bit picky, but even he went for seconds. Made a second batch and froze it for lunches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This recipe is great as is... However, I cooked the lentils beforehand with garlic mad coconut milk and it was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States